Phase-III-Studie zeigt, dass Actemra/RoActemra von Roche die steroidfreie Remission bei Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis aufrechterhielt

Basel, 06. Juni 2016

  • Die Phase-III-Studie, die grösste bisher bei Riesenzellarteriitis durchgeführte klinische Studie, hat die Kriterien für den primären und wichtige sekundäre Endpunkte erfüllt
  • Seit über 50 Jahren hat es keine neuen Medikamente mehr für Riesenzellarteriitis gegeben
  • Die Resultate werden bei Zulassungsbehörden weltweit eingereicht mit dem Ziel, Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis eine neue Therapieoption zur Verfügung zu stellen

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) gab heute positive Resultate der Phase-III-Studie GiACTA zur Beurteilung von Actemra®/RoActemra® (Tocilizumab) bei Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis  bekannt. Die Studie erfüllte die Kriterien für ihren primären und wichtige sekundäre Endpunkte und zeigte, dass Actemra/RoActemra, das zu Beginn der Behandlung sechs Monate mit einem Steroid (Glukokortikoid) kombiniert wurde, die Remission über ein Jahr wirksamer aufrechterhielt als eine alleinige 6- oder 12-monatige Steroidtherapie. Die Studienpatienten hatten eine neu diagnostizierte Riesenzellarteriitis oder einen Rückfall der Erkrankung. Bis zum Zeitpunkt der Analyse wurden keine neuen Sicherheitssignale mit Actemra/RoActemra in dieser Studie beobachtet. Die Nebenwirkungen waren mit denen in früheren Studien mit Actemra/RoActemra vergleichbar.

Riesenzellarteriitis ist eine schwerwiegende Erkrankung, bei der sich Arterienwände, meistens der Kopfarterien, aber auch der Aorta und ihrer Verzweigungen, entzünden.1

Diese Entzündung kann starke, hartnäckige Kopfschmerzen, Kopfhautempfindlichkeit sowie Kiefer- und Armschmerzen verursachen. Die Erkrankung ist schwer zu diagnostizieren und kann unbehandelt zu Erblindung, Schlaganfall oder Aortenaneurysmen führen.2 Sehstörungen treten bei rund 30 Prozent der Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis auf,  und etwa 15 Prozent der Patienten erblinden.3

„Diese Resultate sind ermutigend für Patienten mit dieser seltenen Erkrankung, für die es seit über 50 Jahren keine neuen Behandlungsmöglichkeiten gegeben hat“, so Sandra Horning, Chief Medical Officer und Leiterin der globalen Produktentwicklung von Roche. „Zurzeit sind langfristig verabreichte, hoch dosierte Steroide die Basis der Behandlung von Riesenzellarteriitis. Diese können jedoch schwerwiegende Nebenwirkungen verursachen. Falls die Zulassung erteilt wird, stellt Actemra/RoActemra eine wichtige neue Alternative zur Langzeitanwendung von Steroiden für Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis dar.“

Bei zirka 80 Prozent der Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis, die langfristig Steroide einnehmen, kommt es zu steroidbedingten Nebenwirkungen wie Grauer Star, Diabetes, Knochenbrüchen und Bluthochdruck.4 Die Reduktion der Anwendung von Steroiden ist deshalb sowohl für Ärzte als auch für Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis ein wichtiges Ziel.

Über die GiACTA-Studie

Bei GiACTA (NCT01791153) handelt es sich um eine weltweite randomisierte, doppelblinde, placebokontrollierte Phase-III-Studie zur Untersuchung der Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit von Actemra/RoActemra als neue Behandlungsoption für Riesenzellarteriitis. Es ist die grösste bisher bei Riesenzellarteriitis durchgeführte klinische Studie und die erste, in der verblindete Therapieschemen mit Steroiden in variabler Dosis und variabler Dauer verwendet wurden. Die Multizenterstudie wurde mit 251 Patienten an 76 Studienzentren in 14 Ländern durchgeführt. Die primären und wichtigsten sekundären Endpunkte der Studie wurden nach 52 Wochen beurteilt.

Die Daten der GiACTA-Studie werden zur Präsentation auf einem medizinischen Kongress und bei Zulassungsbehörden weltweit zur Prüfung einer Zulassung eingereicht.

Über Riesenzellarteriitis

Die Häufigkeit des Auftretens von Riesenzellarteriitis in den USA wird auf über 200 Fälle pro 100 000 Menschen im Alter über 50 geschätzt.5 Eine noch höhere Zahl wird aus Nordeuropa gemeldet.6 Frauen sind zwei bis drei Mal so häufig betroffen wie Männer. Riesenzellarteriitis ist aufgrund des breiten und variablen Spektrums ihrer Symptomatik oft schwer zu diagnostizieren.1 Da seit über 50 Jahren keine neuen Medikamente mehr entwickelt wurden, sind Patienten mit Riesenzellarteriitis allein auf die hoch dosierte Steroidtherapie angewiesen, die in den meisten Fällen weder die Krankheit heilen, noch lang anhaltende steroidfreie Remissionen induzieren kann.

Über Actemra/RoActemra (Tocilizumab)

Actemra/RoActemra ist das einzige zugelassene Biotherapeutikum gegen den IL-6-Rezeptor, das sowohl in intravenöser (i.v.) als auch in subkutaner (s.c.) Darreichungsform für die Behandlung von erwachsenen Patienten mit mittelschwerer bis schwerer aktiver rheumatoider Arthritis (RA) zur Verfügung steht. Actemra/RoActemra kann allein oder kombiniert mit Methotrexat (MTX) bei Erwachsenen eingesetzt werden, die andere antirheumatische Medikamente nicht vertragen oder nicht darauf ansprechen. In der neuesten Aktualisierung der Therapieleitlinien für rheumatoide Arthritis der European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) wird Actemra/RoActemra als einziges Biotherapeutikum empfohlen, das sich als Monotherapie wiederholt der Therapie mit MTX oder anderen konventionellen antirheumatischen Basistherapeutika als überlegen erwiesen hat. Die intravenöse Darreichungsform von Actemra/RoActemra ist in den meisten grösseren Ländern für die Behandlung von polyartikulärer juveniler idiopathischer Arthritis (pJIA) und systemischer juveniler idiopathischer Arthritis (sJIA) bei Kindern ab zwei Jahren zugelassen. In Europa ist Actemra/RoActemra auch für Patienten mit schwerer aktiver und fortschreitender rheumatoider Arthritis, die noch nicht mit MTX behandelt wurden, zugelassen. Actemra/RoActemra wird im Rahmen einer Entwicklungsvereinbarung mit Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd, klinisch entwickelt und ist seit April 2005 in Japan zugelassen. Actemra/RoActemra ist in mehr als 100 Ländern weltweit zugelassen.

Über Roche in der Immunologie

Die immunologischen Medikamente der Roche-Gruppe umfassen die Medikamente MabThera /Rituxan (Rituximab) und Actemra/RoActemra (Tocilizumab) gegen rheumatoide Arthritis, Xolair (Omalizumab) für Asthma, Pulmozyme (Dornase alfa) für Mukoviszidose (zystische Fibrose) und Esbriet (Pirfenidon) für idiopathische Lungenfibrose (IPF). Ausserdem ist MabThera für die Behandlung bestimmter Formen von Vaskulitis der kleinen Gefässe zugelassen. Prüfmedikamente von Roche in der späten Phase der klinischen Entwicklung sind Etrolizumab für chronisch-entzündliche Darmerkrankung und Lebrikizumab für schweres Asthma, atopische Dermatitis und IPF.

Über Roche

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 1896 erforscht Roche bessere Wege, um Krankheiten vorzubeugen, zu erkennen und zu behandeln und leistet einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung. Auf der Liste der unentbehrlichen Arzneimittel der Weltgesundheitsorganisation stehen heute 29 von Roche entwickelte Medikamente, darunter lebensrettende Antibiotika, Malariamittel und Krebsmedikamente. Ausgezeichnet wurde Roche zudem bereits das siebte Jahr in Folge als das nachhaltigste Unternehmen innerhalb der Pharma-, Biotechnologie- und Life-Sciences-Branche im Dow Jones Sustainability Index.

Die Roche-Gruppe mit Hauptsitz in Basel, Schweiz, ist in über 100 Ländern tätig und beschäftigte 2015 weltweit über 91 700 Mitarbeitende. Im Jahr 2015 investierte Roche 9,3 Milliarden Schweizer Franken in Forschung und Entwicklung und erzielte einen Umsatz von 48,1 Milliarden Schweizer Franken. Genentech in den USA gehört vollständig zur Roche-Gruppe. Roche ist Mehrheitsaktionär von Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.roche.com.

Alle erwähnten Markennamen sind gesetzlich geschützt.

Literatur

1. Bhat S, et al. Giant cell arteritis. Midlife and Beyond, GM. Rheumatology 2010; 071-079.
2. Eamonn M, et al. Polymyalgia Rheumatica and Giant Cell Arteritis, Rheumatology and Immunology, Section 13: 1147-1151
3 Borchers A.T., et al. Giant cell arteritis: A review of classification, pathophysiology, geoepidemiology and treatment. Autoimmunity Reviews. 11 (2012): A544-5554
4 Ponte C, et al. Giant cell arteritis: Current treatment and management. World J Clin Cases 2015;3(6):484-94.
5 Lawrence C, et al. Estimates of the prevalence of arthritis and selected musculoskeletal disorders in the United States. Arthritis & Rheum 1998;41:778-99
6 Noltorp S, et al. High incidence of polymyalgia rheumatica and giant cell arteritis in a Swedish community. Clin Exp Rheumatol 1991;9:351-5

Media Release

Basel, 06 June 2016

Phase III study shows Roche's Actemra/RoActemra maintained steroid-free remission in people with Giant Cell Arteritis (GCA)

  • The Phase III study, the largest clinical trial ever conducted in GCA, met its primary and key secondary endpoints
  • There have been no new treatments for GCA in more than 50 years
  • Results will be shared with regulatory authorities around the world with the goal of bringing a new treatment to people with GCA

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) today announced positive results from the Phase III study known as GiACTA, which evaluated Actemra®/RoActemra® (tocilizumab) in people with giant cell arteritis (GCA). The study met its primary and key secondary endpoints showing that Actemra/RoActemra, initially combined with a six month steroid (glucocorticoid) regimen, more effectively sustained remission through one year compared to a six or 12 month steroid-only regimen in people with newly diagnosed and relapsing GCA. No new safety signals were observed with Actemra/RoActemra in the study at the time of this analysis. Adverse events were similar to those seen in previous Actemra/RoActemra clinical studies.

GCA is a serious condition where arteries, commonly in the head but also the aorta and its branches, become inflamed.1

This inflammation can lead to persistent and severe headaches, scalp tenderness and jaw and arm pain. It is difficult to diagnose and if left untreated, GCA may lead to blindness, stroke or aortic aneurysms.1 Vision problems occur in approximately 30 percent of people with GCA,2 and about 15 percent experience permanent vision loss.3

“These results are encouraging for patients with this rare disease, for which there have been no new treatments in more than 50 years,” said Sandra Horning, MD, Chief Medical Officer and Head of Global Product Development. “Currently, long-term high-dose steroids are the mainstay treatment for GCA but they can cause their own serious adverse effects. If approved, Actemra/RoActemra will provide an important new alternative to long-term steroid use for people with GCA.”

Approximately 80 percent of people with GCA who are exposed to long-term steroid use experience steroid-related side effects such as cataracts, diabetes, fractures, and hypertension.4 Reducing the use of steroids in this patient group is an important goal for physicians and people living with GCA.

About the GiACTA study

GiACTA (NCT01791153) is a Phase III, global, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial investigating the efficacy and safety of Actemra/RoActemra as a novel treatment for GCA. It is the largest clinical trial ever conducted in GCA and the first to use blinded, variable-dose, variable-duration steroid regimens. The multicenter study was conducted in 251 patients across 76 sites in 14 countries. The study's primary and key secondary endpoints were evaluated at 52 weeks.

GiACTA data will be submitted for presentation at an upcoming medical conference and to regulatory authorities around the world for approval consideration.

About Giant Cell Arteritis

The occurrence of GCA has been estimated at over 200 per 100,000 persons in the United States over the age of 50.5 An even higher frequency has been reported in northern Europe.6 GCA is two to three times more likely to affect women and is often difficult to diagnose due to the wide and variable spectrum of signs and symptoms.1 With no new treatments in more than 50 years, people with GCA are limited to high-dose steroid treatment that generally fails to cure GCA or induce long-term steroid-free remissions.

About Actemra/RoActemra (tocilizumab)

Actemra/RoActemra is the only approved anti-IL-6 receptor biologic, available in both intravenous (IV) and subcutaneous formulations, for the treatment of adult patients with moderate to severe active rheumatoid arthritis (RA). Actemra/RoActemra can be used alone or with methotrexate (MTX) in adults who are intolerant to, or have failed to respond to, other anti-rheumatic medications. In the most recent update to the European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) RA management guidelines, Actemra/RoActemra is highlighted as the only biologic that has been repeatedly demonstrated to be superior as a monotherapy over MTX or other conventional disease-modifying antirheumatic drugs (DMARDs). Actemra/RoActemra IV formulation is approved in most major countries for polyarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis (pJIA) and systemic juvenile idiopathic arthritis (sJIA) in children two years of age and older. In Europe, Actemra/RoActemra is also approved for use in patients with severe, active and progressive RA who previously have not been treated with MTX. Actemra/RoActemra is part of a co-development agreement with Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd and has been approved in Japan since April 2005. Actemra/RoActemra is approved in more than 100 countries worldwide.

About Roche in Immunology

The Roche Group’s immunology medicines include rheumatoid arthritis treatments MabThera /Rituxan (rituximab) and Actemra/RoActemra (tocilizumab), Xolair (omalizumab) in asthma, Pulmozyme (dornase alfa) for cystic fibrosis and Esbriet (pirfenidone) for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF). In addition, MabThera is approved for the treatment of certain types of small-vessel vasculitis. Roche’s late-stage pipeline includes etrolizumab in inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), and lebrikizumab in severe asthma, atopic dermatitis and IPF.

About Roche

Roche is a global pioneer in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics focused on advancing science to improve people’s lives.

Roche is the world’s largest biotech company, with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, immunology, infectious diseases, ophthalmology and diseases of the central nervous system. Roche is also the world leader in in vitro diagnostics and tissue-based cancer diagnostics, and a frontrunner in diabetes management. The combined strengths of pharmaceuticals and diagnostics under one roof have made Roche the leader in personalised healthcare – a strategy that aims to fit the right treatment to each patient in the best way possible.

Founded in 1896, Roche continues to search for better ways to prevent, diagnose and treat diseases and make a sustainable contribution to society. Twenty-nine medicines developed by Roche are included in the World Health Organization Model Lists of Essential Medicines, among them life-saving antibiotics, antimalarials and cancer medicines. Roche has been recognised as the Group Leader in sustainability within the Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology & Life Sciences Industry seven years in a row by the Dow Jones Sustainability Indices.

The Roche Group, headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, is active in over 100 countries and in 2015 employed more than 91,700 people worldwide. In 2015, Roche invested CHF 9.3 billion in R&D and posted sales of CHF 48.1 billion. Genentech, in the United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche is the majority shareholder in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information, please visit www.roche.com.

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.

References

1.Bhat S, et al. Giant cell arteritis. Midlife and Beyond, GM. Rheumatology 2010; 071-079.
2. Eamonn M, et al. Polymyalgia Rheumatica and Giant Cell Arteritis, Rheumatology and Immunology, Section 13: 1147-1151
3. Borchers A.T., et al. Giant cell arteritis: A review of classification, pathophysiology, geoepidemiology and treatment. Autoimmunity Reviews. 11 (2012): A544-5554
4. Ponte C, et al. Giant cell arteritis: Current treatment and management. World J Clin Cases 2015;3(6):484-94.
5. Lawrence C, et al. Estimates of the prevalence of arthritis and selected musculoskeletal disorders in the United States. Arthritis & Rheum 1998;41:778-99
6. Noltorp S, et al. High incidence of polymyalgia rheumatica and giant cell arteritis in a Swedish community. Clin Exp Rheumatol 1991;9:351-5