Roche Annual General Meeting 2016

Basel, 01 March 2016

  • All proposals of the Board of Directors approved
  • Christoph Franz confirmed as Chairman of the Roche Board of Directors; all other Board members standing for re-election approved; Julie Brown and Claudia Süssmuth Dyckerhoff elected as new members of the Board of Directors
  • 29th consecutive dividend increase to CHF 8.10 per share approved

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) announced today that its shareholders approved all of the Board of Directors' proposals and amendments to the Articles of Incorporation at its ordinary Annual General Meeting (AGM). The 797 attending shareholders, representing 86.9% of the total of 160,000,000 shares, approved the Annual Report, the Financial Statements and the Consolidated Financial Statements for 2015.

Christoph Franz was confirmed as Chairman of the Board of Directors with 99.51% of the votes represented. Julie Brown and Claudia Süssmuth Dyckerhoff were elected as new members of the Board of Directors, with 99.98% and 100% of the votes represented respectively.

"Since its foundation 120 years ago, Roche's success has been based on its clear focus on innovation. By following the science, we will continue to find new ways to constantly improve the diagnosis and treatment of serious diseases," said Christoph Franz, Chairman of the Board of Directors. "With the election of Julie Brown and Claudia Süssmuth Dyckerhoff, the Board of Directors has gained two leaders whose extensive experience will contribute to Roche’s continued success. On behalf of the Board of Directors, I would like to thank long-serving members Dame DeAnne Julius and Beatrice Weder di Mauro, who did not stand for re-election, for their outstanding contributions."

Shareholders also authorised the ratification of the Board of Directors’ actions and approved an increase in the gross dividend for the past financial year to 8.10 Swiss francs per share and non-voting equity security. This is the 29th consecutive dividend increase.

Shareholders endorsed the total amount of bonuses paid to the Corporate Executive Committee for 2015 with 99.12% of the votes represented as well as the bonus paid to the Chairman of the Board of Directors for 2015 which was approved by 98.83% of the votes represented. They also approved the maximum total amount of future remuneration of the Board of Directors which was confirmed by 99.14% of the votes represented, and the maximum total amount of future remuneration for the Corporate Executive Committee until the 2017 ordinary Annual General Meeting by 99.16% of the votes represented.

In addition to Christoph Franz, all other Board members who stood for re-election were confirmed for a term of one year:

  • André Hoffmann
  • Professor Pius Baschera
  • Professor Sir John Bell
  • Paul Bulcke
  • Professor Richard P. Lifton
  • Dr Andreas Oeri
  • Bernard Poussot
  • Dr Severin Schwan
  • Peter R. Voser

The following Board members were elected to the Remuneration Committee:

  • Dr Christoph Franz
  • André Hoffmann
  • Professor Richard P. Lifton
  • Bernard Poussot
  • Peter R. Voser

KPMG AG was elected as external auditor for the financial year 2016 and BDO AG was elected as independent voting proxy until the conclusion of the next regular AGM in 2017.

About Roche

Roche is a global pioneer in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics focused on advancing science to improve people's lives.

Roche is the world's largest biotech company, with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, immunology, infectious diseases, ophthalmology and diseases of the central nervous system. Roche is also the world leader in in vitro diagnostics and tissue-based cancer diagnostics, and a frontrunner in diabetes management. The combined strengths of pharmaceuticals and diagnostics under one roof have made Roche the leader in personalised healthcare – a strategy that aims to fit the right treatment to each patient in the best possible way.

Founded in 1896, Roche continues to search for better ways to prevent, diagnose and treat diseases and make a sustainable contribution to society. Twenty-nine medicines developed by Roche are included in the World Health Organization Model Lists of Essential Medicines, among them life-saving antibiotics, antimalarials and cancer medicines. Roche has been recognised as the Group Leader in sustainability within the Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology & Life Sciences Industry seven years in a row by the Dow Jones Sustainability Indices.

The Roche Group, headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, is active in over 100 countries and in 2015 employed more than 91,700 people worldwide. In 2015, Roche invested CHF 9.3 billion in R&D and posted sales of CHF 48.1 billion. Genentech, in the United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche is the majority shareholder in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information, please visit

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.