Changes in Roche Board of Directors

Basel, 09 December 2013

Roche proposes the following Members of the Board of Directors to be re-elected at the AGM, scheduled for 4 March, 2014:

Name (year of birth)Board member since
André Hoffmann (1958)1996
Dr. Andreas Oeri ( 1949)1996
Prof. Dr. Pius Baschera (1950)2007
Prof. Sir John Irving Bell (1952)2001
Paul Bulcke (1954)2011
Dr. Christoph Franz (1960)2011
Dame DeAnne Julius (1949)2002
Dr. Arthur D. Levinson (1950)2010
Dr. Severin Schwan (1967)2013
Peter R. Voser (1958)2011
Prof. Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro (1965)2006

As announced on 16 September, 2013, the Board proposes Christoph Franz to be elected as Chairman of the Board.

William M. Burns (66), Member of the Board of Directors since 2010, has announced that he will not stand for re-election to the Board of Directors.

Roche Chairman Franz B. Humer: “As a long-standing member of the Executive Committee, successful Head of the Pharmaceuticals division and as a board member William M. Burns has made significant contributions to the success of Roche. I want to express my profound gratitude to him for his services.”

About Roche

Headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, Roche is a leader in research-focused healthcare with combined strengths in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics. Roche is the world’s largest biotech company with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, infectious diseases, inflammation, metabolism and neuroscience. Roche is also the world leader in in-vitro diagnostics, tissue-based cancer diagnostics and a pioneer in diabetes management. Roche’s personalized healthcare strategy aims at providing medicines and diagnostic tools that enable tangible improvements in the health, quality of life and survival of patients. In 2012, Roche had over 82,000 employees worldwide and invested over 8 billion Swiss francs in R&D. The Group posted sales of 45.5 billion Swiss francs. Genentech, United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche is the majority shareholder in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information, please visit