Trastuzumab Emtansin (T-DM1) von Roche mit positiven Resultaten in Phase III Studie bei HER2-positivem metastasierenden Brustkrebs

Basel, 30. März 2012

EMILIA-Studie: Trastuzumab Emtansin bei Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem metastasierendem Brustkrebs verlängerte das progressionsfreie Überleben

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) gab heute die allgemeinen Resultate der Studie EMILIA bekannt. EMILIA ist die erste randomisierte Phase-III-Studie mit Trastuzumab Emtansin (T-DM1). In diese Studie wurden Frauen mit HER2-positivem metastasierendem Brustkrebs (mBC) aufgenommen, die zuvor mit Herceptin® und einer Chemotherapie behandelt worden waren. Patientinnen, die in der Studie Trastuzumab Emtansin erhielten lebten signifikant länger ohne Fortschreiten ihrer Erkrankung (progressionsfreies Überleben, PFS), verglichen mit denjenigen, die Lapatinib plus Xeloda (Capecitabin) erhielten. Die endgültigen Resultate für das Gesamtüberleben (OS), einen weiteren Endpunkt der EMILIA-Studie, liegen noch nicht vor. Das Sicherheitsprofil von Trastuzumab Emtansin entsprach dem in früheren Studien. Die Studiendaten werden demnächst auf einer medizinischen Fachtagung vorgestellt.

Trastuzumab Emtansin ist ein in der klinischen Prüfung befindliches Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugat (ADC). Es besteht aus dem Antikörper Trastuzumab und dem Chemotherapeutikum DM1. Beide sind durch eine stabile Verbindungssubstanz (Linker) miteinander verbunden. T-DM1 wurde entwickelt, um die HER2-Signalgebung gezielt zu unterdrücken und das Chemotherapeutikum direkt in HER2-positive Krebszellen einzubringen. Trastuzumab Emtansin bestätigt eindrücklich das Roche-Konzept der personalisierten Medizin und die Entwicklung zielgerichteter Medikamente gegen Krebs.

„Mit Trastuzumab Emtansin haben wir einen neuen Ansatz zur Behandlung von Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem Brustkrebs. Dies ist das Resultat einer jahrzehntelangen Forschung im Bereich des HER-Signalweges“, so Hal Barron, Chief Medical Officer und Leiter der globalen Produktentwicklung von Roche. „Wir begrüssen die EMILIA-Resultate, denn Trastuzumab Emtansin ist unser erstes Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugat und kann Menschen helfen, die dringend weitere Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für diese aggressive Erkrankung benötigen. Wir werden diese Daten so schnell wie möglich bei den Zulassungsbehörden einreichen.“

Auf der Grundlage dieser Resultate plant Roche, noch in diesem Jahr bei der Europäischen Arzneimittel-Agentur (EMA) ein Zulassungsgesuch für Trastuzumab Emtansin zur Behandlung von HER2-positivem metastasierendem Brustkrebs einzureichen. Ausserdem wird Genentech dieses Jahr bei der amerikanischen Gesundheitsbehörde FDA ein Zulassungsgesuch (Biologics License Application) für Trastuzumab Emtansin in derselben Indikation einreichen.

Über die EMILIA-Studie

Die Studie EMILIA (TDM4370g/BO21977) ist eine internationale randomisierte, offene Phase-III-Studie zum Vergleich von Trastuzumab Emtansin allein mit Lapatinib in Kombination mit Xeloda bei 991 Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem metastasierendem Brustkrebs, deren Erkrankung nach der Erstbehandlung mit Herceptin und taxanbasierter Chemotherapie fortschritt.

Die Teilnehmerinnen im Trastuzumab-Emtansin-Studienarm erhielten:

  • 3,6 mg/kg Trastuzumab Emtansin alle drei Wochen

Die Teilnehmerinnen im Lapatinib-plus-Xeloda-Studienarm erhielten:

  • 1250 mg Lapatinib täglich
  • 2000 mg/m2 Xeloda, Tage 1–14, alle drei Wochen

Die co-primären Wirksamkeitsendpunkte der Studie sind das von einem unabhängigen Überprüfungsgremium beurteilte progressionsfreie Überleben (PFS) und das Gesamtüberleben (OS). Weitere Studienendpunkte sind: Sicherheitsprofil, Ein- und Zweijahres-Überlebensraten, vom Prüfarzt beurteiltes progressionsfreies Überleben, Gesamtansprechrate, Ansprechdauer und Lebensqualität.

Über Trastuzumab Emtansin

Trastuzumab Emtansin (T-DM1) ist ein Antikörper-Wirkstoff-Konjugat (ADC), das für die Behandlung von HER2-positiven Krebserkrankungen erforscht wird. Trastuzumab Emtansin wurde entwickelt, um die HER2-Signalgebung zu unterdrücken und das Chemotherapeutikum DM1 direkt in HER2-positive Krebszellen einzubringen. Trastuzumab Emtansin verbindet den potenziellen Nutzen von Trastuzumab mit der zielgerichteten Anwendung der Chemotherapie und könnte zu verbesserter Wirksamkeit und weniger Nebenwirkungen führen. Trastuzumab Emtansin bindet an HER2-positive Krebszellen und blockiert vermutlich die ausser Kontrolle geratenen Signale, die beim Krebswachstum eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Ausserdem nimmt man an, dass der Antikörper das Immunsystem des Körpers dazu anregt, die Krebszellen zu bekämpfen. Wenn Trastuzumab Emtansin in die Krebszellen aufgenommen wird, soll es diese durch Freisetzung der zelltötenden Substanz DM1 zerstören.

Zusätzlich zur EMILIA-Studie laufen zurzeit zwei weitere Phase-III-Studien mit Trastuzumab Emtansin:

  • Die Studie MARIANNE vergleicht drei verschiedene Therapien (Trastuzumab Emtansin allein, Trastuzumab Emtansin plus Pertuzumab und Herceptin plus eine Taxan-Chemotherapie) bei Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem metastasierendem Brustkrebs, deren metastasierende Erkrankung zuvor noch nicht behandelt wurde.
  • Die Studie TH3RESA vergleicht Trastuzumab Emtansin mit der vom Arzt gewählten Behandlung bei Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem metastasierendem Brustkrebs, die zuvor bereits mit Herceptin und Lapatinib behandelt wurden.

Genentech, ein Mitglied der Roche-Gruppe, hält im Rahmen einer Vereinbarung mit ImmunoGen, Inc. eine Lizenz zur Verwendung der Technologie für Trastuzumab Emtansin.

Aufbauend auf den positiven Resultaten der bisherigen Studien mit Trastuzumab Emtansin erforschen Roche/Genentech rund 30 weitere ADCs in der Pipeline.

Über Brustkrebs

Brustkrebs ist weltweit die häufigste Krebsart bei Frauen.1 Jedes Jahr werden auf der ganzen Welt rund 1,4 Millionen neue Fälle von Brustkrebs diagnostiziert, und über 450 000 Frauen sterben jährlich an dieser Krankheit.1 Bei HER2-positivem Brustkrebs sind auf der Oberfläche der Tumorzellen erhöhte Mengen des humanen epidermalen Wachstumsfaktors 2 (HER2) vorhanden. Dieses Phänomen wird als „HER2-Positivität“ bezeichnet und betrifft rund 15–20 Prozent der an Brustkrebs erkrankten Frauen.2 HER2-positiver Brustkrebs ist eine besonders aggressive Form von Brustkrebs.3

Über Roche

Roche mit Hauptsitz in Basel, Schweiz, ein führendes, forschungsorientiertes Unternehmen, ist spezialisiert auf die beiden Geschäfte Pharma und Diagnostics. Als weltweit grösstes Biotech-Unternehmen entwickelt Roche klinisch differenzierte Medikamente für die Onkologie, Virologie, Entzündungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten und Erkrankungen des Zentralnervensystems. Roche, ein Pionier im Diabetesmanagement, ist auch der weltweit bedeutendste Anbieter von In-vitro-Diagnostik und gewebebasierten Krebstests. Medikamente und Diagnostika, welche die Gesundheit, die Lebensqualität und die Überlebenschancen von Patienten entscheidend verbessern, sind das strategische Ziel der personalisierten Medizin von Roche. 2011 beschäftigte Roche weltweit über 80’000 Mitarbeitende und investierte mehr als 8 Milliarden Franken in die Forschung und Entwicklung. Der Konzern erzielte einen Umsatz von 42,5 Milliarden Franken. Genentech, USA, gehört vollständig zur Roche-Gruppe. An Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan, hält Roche die Mehrheitsbeteiligung. Für weitere Informationen: www.roche.com.

Alle erwähnten Markennamen sind gesetzlich geschützt.

Literatur
1) Ferlay J, Shin HR, Bray F, Forman D, Mathers C and Parkin DM GLOBOCAN 2008, Cancer Incidence and Mortality Worldwide: IARC Cancer Base No. 10 [Internet]. Lyon, France: International Agency for Research on Cancer; 2010. Erhältlich unter: http://globocan.iarc.fr.
2) Wolff A.C et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology/ College of American Pathologists Guideline Recommendations for Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 Testing in Breast Cancer. Arch Pathol Lab Med—Vol 131, January 2007.
3) Slamon D et al. Adjuvant Trastuzumab in HER2-Positive Breast Cancer. N Engl J Med 2011; 365:1273-83.

Media Release

Basel, 30 March 2012

Roche's trastuzumab emtansine (T-DM1) showed positive Phase III results in HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer

EMILIA study showed trastuzumab emtansine significantly extended the time people with HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer lived without their disease getting worse

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) today announced topline results of EMILIA, the first randomised Phase III study of trastuzumab emtansine (T-DM1).  The study enrolled people with HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer (mBC) who had previously received treatment with Herceptin® and a taxane (chemotherapy).  The study showed people who received trastuzumab emtansine lived significantly longer without their disease getting worse (progression-free survival, PFS) compared to those who received lapatinib plus Xeloda® (capecitabine).  Final results for overall survival (OS), a co-primary efficacy endpoint of EMILIA, are not yet mature.  The safety profile of trastuzumab emtansine was consistent with that seen in previous studies.  These data will be submitted for presentation at an upcoming medical meeting.

Trastuzumab emtansine is an investigational medicine known as an antibody-drug conjugate (ADC).  It is comprised of the antibody trastuzumab and the chemotherapy agent DM1 attached together using a stable linker.  It is designed to target and inhibit HER2 signaling and deliver the chemotherapy directly inside HER2-positive cancer cells. Trastuzumab emtansine reinforces Roche's personalized healthcare approach of developing targeted medicines to fight cancer.

“Trastuzumab emtansine represents a new approach for the treatment of patients with HER2-positive breast cancer that comes from our decades of research on the HER pathway,”  said Hal Barron, M.D., Chief Medical Officer and Head, Global Product Development.  “We are excited about the EMILIA results because trastuzumab emtansine is our first antibody drug conjugate and it may help people who still need more treatment options for this aggressive disease. We will work to submit these data to regulatory authorities as quickly as possible.”

Based on these findings, Roche plans to submit a Marketing Authorisation Application to the European Medicines Agency (EMA) this year for trastuzumab emtansine in HER2-positive mBC.  In addition, Genentech plans to submit a Biologics License Application for trastuzumab emtansine to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) this year for the same indication.

About the EMILIA study

EMILIA (TDM4370g/BO21977) is an international, Phase III, randomised, open-label study comparing trastuzumab emtansine alone to lapatinib in combination with Xeloda in 991 people with HER2-positive mBC whose disease progressed after initial treatment with Herceptin and a taxane-based chemotherapy.

Participants in the trastuzumab emtansine arm received:

  • Trastuzumab emtansine 3.6 mg/kg every three weeks

Participants in the lapatinib and Xeloda arm received:

  • Lapatinib 1250 mg daily
  • Xeloda 2000 mg/m2, days 1 – 14, every three weeks

The co-primary efficacy endpoints of the study are PFS (as assessed by an independent review committee) and OS.  Other study endpoints include safety profile, one-year and two-year survival rates, PFS as assessed by investigator, overall response rate, duration of response and quality of life.

About trastuzumab emtansine

Trastuzumab emtansine (T-DM1) is an ADC being studied in HER2-positive cancers.  Trastuzumab emtansine is designed to inhibit HER2 signaling and deliver the chemotherapy agent DM1 directly inside  HER2-positive cancer cells.  Trastuzmab emtansine offers both the potential benefits of trastuzumab and the unique targeted delivery of chemotherapy, which may result in improved efficacy and fewer adverse events.  Trastuzumab emtansine binds to the HER2-positive cancer cells, and is thought to block out-of-control signals that make the cancer grow while also calling on the body's immune system to attack the cancer cells. Once trastuzumab emtansine is absorbed into those cancer cells, it is designed to destroy them by releasing the DM1.

In addition to EMILIA, there are two ongoing Phase III studies of trastuzumab emtansine:

  • MARIANNE is comparing three different regimens (trastuzumab emtansine alone, trastuzumab emtansine plus pertuzumab, and Herceptin plus a taxane chemotherapy) in people with HER2-positive mBC who have not been previously treated for their metastatic disease.
  • TH3RESA is comparing trastuzumab emtansine with physician's choice of treatment in people with HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer who have already received both Herceptin and lapatinib.

Genentech, a member of the Roche Group, licenses technology for trastuzumab emtansine under an agreement with ImmunoGen, Inc.

Building on the results of trastuzumab emtansine studies to date, Roche/Genentech have approximately 30 ADCs in the pipeline.

About breast cancer

Breast cancer is the most common cancer among women worldwide.1 Each year about 1.4 million new cases of breast cancer are diagnosed worldwide, and over 450,000 women will die of the disease annually.1  In HER2-positive breast cancer, increased quantities of the human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) are present on the surface of the tumour cells. This is known as “HER2 positivity” and affects approximately 15-20 percent of women with breast cancer.2 HER2-positive cancer is a particularly aggressive form of breast cancer.3

About Roche

Headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, Roche is a leader in research-focused healthcare with combined strengths in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics. Roche is the world’s largest biotech company with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, virology, inflammation, metabolism and CNS. Roche is also the world leader in in-vitro diagnostics, tissue-based cancer diagnostics and a pioneer in diabetes management. Roche’s personalized healthcare strategy aims at providing medicines and diagnostic tools that enable tangible improvements in the health, quality of life and survival of patients. In 2011, Roche had over 80,000 employees worldwide and invested over 8 billion Swiss francs in R&D. The Group posted sales of 42.5 billion Swiss francs. Genentech, United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche has a majority stake in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information: www.roche.com.

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.

References
1) Ferlay J, Shin HR, Bray F, Forman D, Mathers C and Parkin DM GLOBOCAN 2008, Cancer Incidence and Mortality Worldwide: IARC Cancer Base No. 10 [Internet]. Lyon, France: International Agency for Research on Cancer; 2010. Available from: http://globocan.iarc.fr.
2) Wolff A.C et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology/ College of American Pathologists Guideline Recommendations for Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 Testing in Breast Cancer. Arch Pathol Lab Med—Vol 131, January 2007.
3) Slamon D et al. Adjuvant Trastuzumab in HER2-Positive Breast Cancer. N Engl J Med 2011; 365:1273-83.