Phase-II-Studie mit ocrelizumab zeigt eine fast zwei Jahre anhaltende deutliche Reduktion der Krankheitsaktivität bei Patienten mit multipler Sklerose

Basel, 20. Oktober 2011

Ocrelizumab wird in den laufenden Phase-III-Studien in zwei Formen von MS untersucht

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) gab heute die 96-Wochen-Resultate1 einer Phase-II-Studie mit ocrelizumab bei Patienten mit schubförmig-remittierender multipler Sklerose, der häufigsten klinischen Form2 dieser Erkrankung, bekannt. Die Studie zeigte, dass die deutliche Reduktion der Krankheitsaktivität, die anhand der Gesamtzahl der aktiven Entzündungsherde im Gehirn und der Schübe in den ersten 24 Wochen gemessen wurde, über 96 Wochen anhielt. Die Daten werden heute auf dem jährlichen Kongress des European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS), der weltweit grössten internationalen Konferenz über Grundlagen- und klinische Forschung zu multipler Sklerose, vorgestellt.

Patienten mit schubförmig-remittierender MS leiden in Folge der Schädigung des Zentralnervensystems (Gehirn, Rückenmark und Sehnerven) an wiederkehrenden Krankheitsschüben und behindernden Symptomen, die ihre Lebensqualität erheblich beeinträchtigen können. Die Symptome sind unvorhersehbar und von Patient zu Patient sehr unterschiedlich. Bei den meisten Betroffenen treten die ersten Symptome im Alter zwischen 20 und 40 Jahren auf.

Die Resultate der Studie zeigten während des Behandlungszeitraums von Woche 24-96 bei keinem der Patienten, die eine Dosis von 600 mg ocrelizumab erhielten, neue oder sich vergrössernde Herde im Gehirn (gemessen mittels MRT). Die annualisierte Schubrate (ARR), d. h. die Anzahl der akuten klinischen Krankheitsschübe pro Patient und Jahr, betrug über den 96-wöchigen Zeitraum hinweg weniger als 0,2 Schübe pro Patient pro Jahr. Die Daten zeigten ausserdem, dass zwei Drittel der Patienten in der 600-mg-Gruppe, die die Studie abschlossen, über den 96-wöchigen Behandlungszeitraum hinweg frei von jeglicher Krankheitsaktivität (gemessen mittels MRT, Beobachtung von Schüben oder der neurologischen Progression) blieben.

„Dieser Nachweis der Langzeitwirksamkeit von ocrelizumab bestätigt den überzeugenden Nutzen, der in der ersten 24-wöchigen Behandlungsphase gezeigt wurde,“ so Dr. Hal Barron, Chief Medical Officer und Leiter der globalen Produktentwicklung von Roche. „Die Resultate versprechen eine hohe Erfolgswahrscheinlichkeit des laufenden Phase-III-Studienprogramms bei Patienten mit schubförmig-remittierender multipler Sklerose. Zusätzlich läuft derzeit eine Studie zur Beurteilung des potenziellen Nutzens von ocrelizumab bei Patienten mit primär progredienter multipler Sklerose.“

Das Sicherheitsprofil von ocrelizumab über 96 Wochen entsprach dem der vorausgegangenen ersten 24-wöchigen Studienphase. Es wurden keine opportunistischen Infektionen beobachtet, und die Infektionsrate (einschliesslich schwerwiegender Infektionen) stieg im Laufe des Behandlungszeitraums nicht. Die Raten schwerwiegender Infektionen waren für ocrelizumab 600 mg (1,97 Ereignisse pro 100 Patientenjahre) und ocrelizumab 1000 mg (1,93 Ereignisse pro 100 Patientenjahre) etwa gleich und stiegen während der Behandlung mit ocrelizumab nicht.

Über die Studie

  • Eine randomisierte, multizentrische, placebokontrollierte Phase-II-Studie an 220 Patienten mit schubförmig-remittierender multipler Sklerose.
  • Eine Gruppe mit randomisierter, offener, jedoch für die Auswerter verblindeter Behandlung mit Interferon beta-1a (30 µg wöchentlich intramuskulär) diente als aktiver Vergleichsarm.
  • In den primären Analysen wurde das Wirksamkeits- und Sicherheitsprofil der beiden Dosen von ocrelizumab über 24 Wochen mit einem Placebo verglichen.
  • An den Tagen 1 und 15 erhielten die Patienten intravenöse Infusionen von 300 mg ocrelizumab, 1000 mg ocrelizumab oder Placebo. Eine zusätzliche Gruppe erhielt offen Interferon beta-1a (30 µg wöchentlich intramuskulär).
  • Wie bereits früher berichtet, reduzierte sich die Gesamtzahl der Gadolinium-verstärkten T1-gewichteten Herde (in MRT-Untersuchungen nach 12, 16, 20 und 24 Wochen) im Studienarm mit 2 x 300 mg signifikant um 89 % und im Studienarm mit 2 x 1000 mg um 92 % verglichen sowohl mit Placebo als auch mit Interferon beta 1-a (p<0,0001 für beide Dosen).
  • Die Schubrate reduzierte sich nach 24 Wochen signifikant um 80 % (p=0,0005) mit ocrelizumab 2 x 300 mg und um 73 % (p=0,0014) mit ocrelizumab 2 x 1000 mg verglichen mit dem Placebo.
  • In den ersten 24 Wochen traten in den doppelblinden Behandlungsgruppen (Ocrelizumab 600 mg, ocrelizumab 2000 mg vs. Placebo) die folgenden schweren unerwünschten Ereignisse auf: systemisches Entzündungsreaktionssyndrom [SIRS] (0,0 %, 1,8 % vs. 0,0 %), Überempfindlichkeit (1,8 %, 0,0 % vs. 0,0 %), Mundherpes (0,0 %, 0,0 % vs. 1,9 %), Plattenepithelzellkarzinom der Haut (vorbestehende Erkrankung) (0,0 %, 1,8 % vs. 0,0 %) und Angst (0,0 %, 1,8 % vs. 0,0 %).
  • Nach 24 Wochen wurden die Patienten, die das Placebo oder Interferon beta-1a erhielten, auf ocrelizumab in Infusionen von 2 x 300 mg bis Woche 48 und Einzelinfusionen von 600 mg bis Woche 96 umgestellt.
  • Patienten, die mit 2 x 300 mg bzw. 2 x 1000 mg ocrelizumab begannen, wurden bis Woche 72 mit Einzelinfusionen von 600 mg bzw. 1000 mg weiterbehandelt und anschliessend bis Woche 96 auf Einzelinfusionen von 600 mg umgestellt.
  • Alle Gruppen wurden nach 24 Wochen offen weiterbehandelt.
  • Nach 96 Wochen wurden in den Untersuchungen des Gehirns mittels Magnetresonanztomografie (MRT) in den Gruppen mit Ocrelizumab 600 mg und 1000 mg bei keinem Patienten gadoliniumverstärkte T1-Herde beobachtet.
  • Von Woche 24 bis 96 wurden bei keinem Patienten in der Gruppe mit ocrelizumab 600 mg neue und/oder grössere T2-Herde beobachtet.
  • Die Schubrate in den Wochen 0–96 betrug 0,18 (95%-KI 0,11–0,31) für die ocrelizumab-600-mg-Gruppe und 0,22 (0,13–0,35) für die ocrelizumab-1000-mg-Gruppe.
  • 67,3 % der Patienten in der Gruppe mit ocrelizumab 600 mg und 76,4 % der Patienten in der Gruppe mit ocrelizumab 1000 mg hatten keine Krankheitsschübe und keine bestätigte neurologische Progression (EDSS-Score) von Woche 0–96 („frei von klinischer Krankheitsaktivität“); 78,2 % bzw. 80,0 % der Patienten waren frei von Krankheitsschüben.
  • Es wurde kein Ungleichgewicht in der Gesamtzahl der schwerwiegenden Nebenwirkungen zwischen den Behandlungsgruppen bis Woche 96 beobachtet.
  • Wie bereits früher berichtet, verstarb ein Patient, der 2 x 1000 mg erhielt, in Woche 14 nach kompliziertem Verlauf eines systemischen Entzündungsreaktionssyndroms.
  • Die Raten schwerwiegender Infektionen waren für ocrelizumab 600 mg (1,97 Ereignisse pro 100 Patientenjahre [95%-KI: 0,49–7,98]) und ocrelizumab 1000 mg (1,93 Ereignisse pro 100 Patientenjahre [95%-KI: 0,48–7,71]) etwa gleich und stiegen während der Behandlung mit ocrelizumab nicht.
  • Es wurden keine opportunistischen Infektionen beobachtet, und die Infektionsrate (einschliesslich schwerwiegender Infektionen) stieg im Laufe des Behandlungszeitraums nicht.

Über das klinische Phase-III-Studienprogramm

Das klinische Phase-III-Studienprogramm mit ocrelizumab (Orchestra) besteht aus zwei Studien an Patienten mit schubförmiger multipler Sklerose (Opera I und II) und einer Studie an Patienten mit primär progredienter multipler Sklerose (Oratorio). In alle Studien sind bereits die ersten Patienten aufgenommen worden. Es gibt noch keine zugelassene Therapie für die primär progrediente multiple Sklerose (PPMS), eine sehr viel seltenere Form der Erkrankung, von der rund 10 % der MS-Patienten betroffen sind.

Über ocrelizumab

Ocrelizumab ist ein humanisierter monoklonaler Antikörper in der klinischen Prüfung, der selektiv auf CD20-positive B-Zellen abzielt, die bei multipler Sklerose (MS) vermutlich eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Ocrelizumab unterstützt auf diese Weise das körpereigene Immunsystem dabei, die CD20-positiven B-Zellen zu beseitigen.

Über multiple Sklerose

Multiple Sklerose (MS) ist eine stark beeinträchtigende Autoimmunerkrankung des Zentralnervensystems (ZNS) und eine der Hauptursachen von neurologischen Behinderungen bei jungen Erwachsenen.3,4 Das Immunsystem greift fälschlicherweise gesundes Nervengewebe im ZNS an, wodurch die Übertragung von Nervensignalen vom ZNS an den Rest des Körpers gestört wird.5 Die Symptome sind unvorhersehbar und von Patient zu Patient sehr unterschiedlich. Häufige Beschwerden sind Kribbeln, Taubheit, Schmerzen, verwaschene Sprache und verschwommenes Sehen oder Doppeltsehen. Manche Patienten leiden an Muskelschwäche, Gleichgewichts- oder Koordinationsstörungen und Muskelzittern sowie veränderten Sinnesempfindungen, Gedächtnis- und Konzentrationsproblemen. Mit der Zeit entwickeln sich (ohne Behandlung) bei den meisten Patienten bleibende Behinderungen wie etwa unvollständige oder vollständige Lähmungen und Seh-, Sprach- und Gedächtnisstörungen. Nach Schätzungen der Weltgesundheitsorganisation leiden weltweit rund 1,3 Millionen Menschen an multipler Sklerose.6 Bei den meisten Betroffenen treten die ersten Symptome im Alter zwischen 20 und 40 Jahren auf.7 Die schubförmig-remittierende multiple Sklerose (RRMS) ist die häufigste klinische Form von MS, auf die rund 85 % aller Fälle2 bei Ausbruch der Erkrankung entfallen. Die schubförmig-remittierende MS ist durch wiederholte akute Krankheitsschübe mit fast vollständigem Abklingen der Symptome zwischen den einzelnen Schüben gekennzeichnet.

Über Roche

Roche mit Hauptsitz in Basel, Schweiz, ein führendes, forschungsorientiertes Unternehmen, ist spezialisiert auf die beiden Geschäfte Pharma und Diagnostics. Als weltweit grösstes Biotech-Unternehmen entwickelt Roche klinisch differenzierte Medikamente für die Onkologie, Virologie, Entzündungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten und Erkrankungen des Zentralnervensystems. Roche, ein Pionier im Diabetesmanagement, ist auch der weltweit bedeutendste Anbieter von In-vitro-Diagnostik und gewebebasierten Krebstests. Medikamente und Diagnostika, welche die Gesundheit, die Lebensqualität und die Überlebenschancen von Patienten entscheidend verbessern, sind das strategische Ziel der personalisierten Medizin von Roche. 2010 beschäftigte Roche weltweit über 80’000 Mitarbeitende und investierte mehr als 9 Milliarden Franken in die Forschung und Entwicklung. Der Konzern erzielte einen Umsatz von 47,5 Milliarden Franken. Genentech, USA, gehört vollständig zur Roche-Gruppe. An Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan, hält Roche die Mehrheitsbeteiligung. Für weitere Informationen: www.roche.com.

Alle erwähnten Markennamen sind gesetzlich geschützt.

Literatur:
1) ‘Efficacy and Safety of ocrelizumab in Patients with Relapsing-Remitting Multiple Sclerosis: Week 96 results of a Phase II Randomized, Multicentre Trial’, Kappos et al., ECTRIMS 2011
2) Informationsseite der britischen Multiple Sclerosis Society (MSS), What is relapsing and remitting MS? http://www.mssociety.org.uk/about_ms/types_of_ms/what_is_rrms.html#
3) Ford HL, Gerry E, Johnson M, et al. A prospective study of the incidence, prevalence and mortality of multiple sclerosis in Leeds. J Neurol 2002; 249:260–265
4) Sloka JS, Pryse-Phillips WE, Stefanelli M. Incidence and prevalence of multiple sclerosis in Newfoundland and Labrador. Can J Neurol Sci 2005; 32:37–42
5) NINDS-Informationsseite über multiple Sklerose, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/multiple_sclerosis/multiple_sclerosis.htm, letzter Zugriff am 30.10.2009
6) MS Atlas, Weltgesundheitsorganisation 2008
7) NINDS-Informationsseite über multiple Sklerose, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/multiple_sclerosis/multiple_sclerosis.htm, letzter Zugriff am 30.10.2009

Media Release

Basel, 20 October 2011

Phase II study showed ocrelizumab maintained significant reduction in disease activity for multiple sclerosis patients for almost two years

Phase III trials underway to investigate ocrelizumab in two forms of MS

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) today announced 96-week results1 from a Phase II study of ocrelizumab in patients with relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis (RRMS), the most common clinical form2 of the disease. The study showed that the significant reduction in disease activity as measured by the total number of active brain lesions and relapses previously reported for 24 weeks, was maintained through 96 weeks. The data is being presented today at ECTRIMS (European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis) the world's largest annual international conference devoted to basic and clinical research in multiple sclerosis.

People with RRMS suffer from relapses and disabling symptoms caused by damage to the central nervous system (the brain, spinal cord and optic nerves) which can significantly affect their quality of life. Symptoms are unpredictable and vary between patients. Most people experience their first symptoms between the ages of 20 and 40.

Results from the trial showed that during the 24-96 week treatment period no patient who received a dose of 600mg ocrelizumab developed a new or enlarging brain lesion (as measured by MRI). The annualised relapse rate (ARR), the rate of clinical attacks or flare-ups per patient-year, was less than 0.2 attacks per patient per year across the 96-week period. The data also showed that, of the patients who completed the study, two-thirds of the patients in the 600mg group were free of any disease activity (as measured by MRI, relapses or neurological progression) over the 96-week treatment period.

"This demonstration of long-term efficacy of ocrelizumab confirms the compelling benefit demonstrated in the first 24-week treatment period", said Hal Barron, M.D., Head of Global Development and Chief Medical Officer for Roche. “These results indicate a high likelihood of success of the ongoing Phase III program in patients with relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis. Additionally, a study is underway to evaluate the potential benefit of ocrelizumab in patients with primary progressive multiple sclerosis.”

The safety profile of ocrelizumab over the 96 weeks of the study was consistent with that demonstrated in the earlier 24-week data. No opportunistic infections were reported and the rate of infections (and serious infections) did not increase over the treatment period. Serious infection rates were similar for ocrelizumab 600mg (1.97 events/100 patient/years) and ocrelizumab 1000 mg (1.93 events/100 patient/years) and did not increase with time on ocrelizumab treatment.

About the study

  • A Phase II, randomised, multicenter, placebo-controlled study in 220 patients with RRMS.
  • A randomised, open-label, rater-blinded, interferon beta-1a (30mcg IM weekly) group was enrolled as an active comparator arm.
  • In the primary analyses, the efficacy and safety profile of the two dose regimens of ocrelizumab were evaluated over 24 weeks versus placebo.
  • At day one and day 15, patients either received intravenous infusions of 300mg ocrelizumab, 1000mg ocrelizumab or placebo. An additional group received open-label interferon beta-1a (30 mcg IM weekly).
  • As reported previously, the total number of gadolinium enhancing T1 lesions (based on MRI scans at weeks 12, 16, 20 and 24), was significantly decreased by 89%  in the 2 x 300mg arm and 92% in the 2 x 1000mg arm, compared to both placebo and interferon beta 1-a (p < 0.0001 for both doses).
  • ARR was significantly reduced by 80%  (p = 0.0005) with ocrelizumab 2 x 300mg and by 73% (p = 0.0014) with ocrelizumab 2 x1000 mg versus placebo at week 24.
  • At 24 weeks in the double-blinded treatment groups (ocrelizumab 600mg, ocrelizumab 2000mg vs. placebo) SAEs (serious adverse events) included: systemic inflammatory response syndrome [SIRS] (0.0 percent, 1.8 percent vs. 0.0 percent), hypersensitivity (1.8 percent, 0.0 percent vs. 0.0 percent), oral herpes (0.0 percent, 0.0 percent vs. 1.9 percent), squamous cell carcinoma of the skin (pre-existing lesion) (0.0 percent, 1.8 percent vs. 0.0 percent) and anxiety (0.0 percent, 1.8 percent vs. 0.0 percent).
  • At week 24 patients on placebo and interferon beta-1a were switched to ocrelizumab, given as 2 x300 mg infusions through week 48 and single 600mg infusions through week 96.
  • Patients who began on 2 x 300mg and 2 x 1000mg ocrelizumab continued on 600mg or 1000mg, given as single infusions, until week 72, at which time patients were switched to single 600mg infusions through to week 96.
  • All groups were treated in open-label fashion after week 24.
  • Overall, at week 96, there were no gadolinium-enhancing T1 lesions observed by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans of the brain in any patient in either of the ocrelizumab 600mg or 1000mg groups.
  • No new and/or enlarging T2 lesions were observed from weeks 24 to 96 in any patient in the ocrelizumab 600mg group.
  • The ARR for weeks 0–96 was 0.18 (95% CI: 0.11–0.31) for the ocrelizumab 600mg group and 0.22 (0.13–0.35) for the ocrelizumab 1000mg group.
  • Overall, 67.3% patients in the ocrelizumab 600mg group and 76.4% of patients in the ocrelizumab 1000mg group had no relapses and no confirmed EDSS progression from week 0–96 (‘clinical disease activity free’); 78.2% and 80.0% of patients, respectively, were relapse-free.
  • There was no imbalance in the total number of serious adverse events observed across the treatment groups to week 96.
  • As has been previously reported, one death occurred in a patient receiving 2 x 1000mg, at week 14, secondary to a complicated course of systemic inflammatory response syndrome
  • Serious infection rates were similar for ocrelizumab 600mg (1.97 events/100 patient/years [95% CI: 0.49–7.98]) and ocrelizumab 1000mg (1.93 events/100 patient/years [95% CI: 0.48–7.71]) and did not increase with time on ocrelizumab treatment.
  • No opportunistic infections were reported and the rate of infections (and serious infections) did not increase over the treatment period.

About the phase III clinical program

The ocrelizumab Phase III clinical program (Orchestra), consists of two studies in patients with relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis (Opera I and II) and one study in patients with primary progressive multiple sclerosis (Oratorio). The program has now begun enrolling patients into all of its trials. There is no approved therapy to treat PPMS, a much rarer form of the disease, affecting about 10% of those with MS.

About ocrelizumab

Ocrelizumab is an investigational, humanised monoclonal antibody designed to selectively target CD20-positive B-cells, which are believed to play a critical role in multiple sclerosis (MS). It then interacts with the body’s immune system to eliminate CD20-positive B-cells.

About multiple sclerosis

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a highly debilitating, autoimmune-mediated disease of the central nervous system (CNS) and is one of the leading causes of neurological disability in young adults3,4. The immune system incorrectly attacks healthy nerve tissue in the CNS which affects the transfer of messages from the CNS to the rest of the body5. Symptoms are unpredictable and vary between patients, but include tingling, numbness, pain, slurred speech and blurred or double vision. Some patients may experience muscle weakness, poor balance or coordination and tremors as well as altered sensation, memory and concentration problems. Over time (without treatment) most patients develop permanent disability, including partial or complete paralysis and difficulties with vision, speech and memory. According to estimates of the World Health Organisation, approximately 1.3 million people worldwide have been diagnosed with multiple sclerosis6. Most people experience their first symptoms between the ages of 20 and 40 years7. Relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis (RRMS) is the most common clinical form of MS and accounts for around 85% of all cases2at onset. RRMS is characterised by infrequent, acute exacerbations with full or partial recovery between attacks.

About Roche

Headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, Roche is a leader in research-focused healthcare with combined strengths in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics. Roche is the world’s largest biotech company with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, virology, inflammation, metabolism and CNS. Roche is also the world leader in in-vitro diagnostics, tissue-based cancer diagnostics and a pioneer in diabetes management. Roche’s personalised healthcare strategy aims at providing medicines and diagnostic tools that enable tangible improvements in the health, quality of life and survival of patients. In 2010, Roche had over 80’000 employees worldwide and invested over 9 billion Swiss francs in R&D. The Group posted sales of 47.5 billion Swiss francs. Genentech, United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche has a majority stake in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information: www.roche.com.

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.

References:
1) ‘Efficacy and Safety of ocrelizumab in Patients with Relapsing-Remitting Multiple Sclerosis: Week 96 results of a Phase II Randomized, Multicentre Trial’, Kappos et al., ECTRIMS 2011
2) Multiple Sclerosis Society (MSS) UK’s information page, What is relapsing and remitting MS? http://www.mssociety.org.uk/about_ms/types_of_ms/what_is_rrms.html#
3) Ford HL, Gerry E, Johnson M, et al. A prospective study of the incidence, prevalence and mortality of multiple sclerosis in Leeds. J Neurol 2002; 249:260–265
4) Sloka JS, Pryse-Phillips WE, Stefanelli M. Incidence and prevalence of multiple sclerosis in Newfoundland and Labrador. Can J Neurol Sci 2005; 32:37–42
5) NINDS multiple sclerosis information page, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/multiple_sclerosis/multiple_sclerosis.htm, last accessed 30/10/09
6) MS Atlas, World Health Organisation, 2008
7) NINDS multiple sclerosis information page, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/multiple_sclerosis/multiple_sclerosis.htm, last accessed 30/10/09