Changes in Roche Board of Directors

Basel, 07 December 2012

At its December meeting, the Board of Directors (BoD) of Roche Holding recommended proposals for approval by the AGM, scheduled for 5 March 2013. Prof. Dr. Bruno Gehrig (born 1946, Member of the Board since 2004) and Lodewijk J.R. de Vink (born 1946, Member of the Board since 2004) have announced that they will not stand for re-election to the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors would like to thank both Members for their long and valuable contribution to the successful continuing development of Roche.

Dr. Severin Schwan (born 1967), CEO of Roche, will be proposed as a new member to the Board of Directors.

The following will be proposed for a further period of office:
Name (year of birth)Board member since
Dr. Andreas Oeri ( 1949)1996
Prof. Dr. Pius Baschera (1950)2007
Paul Bulcke (1954)2011
William M. Burns (1947)2010
Dr. Christoph Franz (1960)2011
Dr. DeAnne Julius (1949)2002
Dr. Arthur D. Levinson (1950)2010
Peter R. Voser (1958)2011
Prof. Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro (1965)2006

About Roche

Headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, Roche is a leader in research-focused healthcare with combined strengths in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics. Roche is the world’s largest biotech company with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, virology, inflammation, metabolism and CNS. Roche is also the world leader in in-vitro diagnostics, tissue-based cancer diagnostics and a pioneer in diabetes management. Roche’s personalized healthcare strategy aims at providing medicines and diagnostic tools that enable tangible improvements in the health, quality of life and survival of patients. In 2011, Roche had over 80,000 employees worldwide and invested over 8 billion Swiss francs in R&D. The Group posted sales of 42.5 billion Swiss francs. Genentech, United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche has a majority stake in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information:

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.