Medienmitteilung

Basel, den 23. März 2012

Herceptin von Roche als subkutane Injektion ist patientenfreundlicher und reduziert Gesundheitskosten im Vergleich zur gängigen intravenösen Infusion

Subkutane Verabreichung von Herceptin ist weniger invasiv und benötigt rund 5 Minuten anstatt 30-90 Minuten bei der derzeit zugelassenen intravenösen Verabreichung

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) gab heute die Resultate der Phase-III-Studie HannaH bei Frauen mit HER2-positivem Brustkrebs im Frühstadium (eBC) bekannt. Sie zeigen zum ersten Mal, dass eine neue Art der Verabreichung von Herceptin (Trastuzumab) als subkutane (s.c.) Injektion zu einer vergleichbaren Wirksamkeit führt wie die derzeitige intravenöse (i.v.) Verabreichung des Medikaments – gemessen an der kompletten pathologischen Remission (pCR), der vollständigen Beseitigung von Tumorzellen in der Brust. Subkutan verabreichtes Herceptin ist patientenfreundlicher als die herkömmliche intravenöse Gabe, weil die Verabreichung weniger invasiv und schneller ist (5 Minuten anstatt 30 – 90 Minuten). Die HannaH-Studie zeigte ausserdem, dass subkutan angewendetes Herceptin zu ähnlichen durchschnittlichen Konzentrationswerten von Herceptin im Blut führte (Pharmakokinetik) wie die intravenöse Darreichungsform. Das Sicherheitsprofil entsprach in beiden Armen der HannaH-Studie dem zu erwartenden Sicherheitsprofil bei Behandlung mit Herceptin und Standardchemotherapie in dieser klinischen Behandlung. Die Studienresultate wurden heute auf der 8. European Breast Cancer Conference (EBCC-8) in Wien (Abstract Nr. 1BA) im Rahmen des EBCC-8-Hauptsymposiums vorgestellt.

„Die subkutane Verabreichung von Herceptin ist eine Alternative zu intravenösem Herceptin und stellt einen bedeutenden Therapiemöglichkeit für Patienten mit HER2-positivem Brustkrebs dar,“ so Dr. Hal Barron, Chief Medical Officer und Leiter der globalen Produktentwicklung von Roche. „Weil die Verabreichung weniger invasiv ist und nur 5 anstatt 30-90 Minuten dauert, ist subkutan verabreichtes Herceptin patientenfreundlicher und kann die Gesundheitskosten im Vergleich zur bisherigen intravenösen Standardformulierung reduzieren.”

Die subkutane Gabe ist eine weniger invasive Verabreichungsart, weshalb die Patienten für die Behandlung mit Herceptin weniger Zeit im Krankenhaus verbringen müssen als bei der intravenösen Infusion. Dies ist ein wichtiger Aspekt bei frühem Brustkrebs, bei dem Herceptin üblicherweise für ein Jahr verabreicht wird. Subkutanes Herceptin wird in einer Fixdosis von 600 mg unter die Haut gespritzt. Im Gegensatz zu intravenös verabreichtem Herceptin ist bei der subkutanen Darreichungsform keine initiale Aufsättigungsdosis und keine gewichtsangepasste Dosierung erforderlich; unabhängig vom Körpergewicht der Patientin wird ein und dieselbe Dosis verwendet.

Auf der Grundlage der HannaH-Studiendaten hat Roche bei der Europäischen Arzneimittel-Agentur (EMA) ein Gesuch auf Produktlinienerweiterung für subkutan verabreichtes Herceptin zur Behandlung von HER2-positivem Brustkrebs eingereicht.

Die beiden primären Endpunkte – Pharmakokinetik (PK) und Wirksamkeit – erfüllten ihre vorgegebenen Kriterien. Die Wirkstoffkonzentration im Blut, die unmittelbar vor der Operation gemessen wurde, war für die subkutane Darreichungsform mindestens genauso hoch wie für die intravenöse Formulierung (69,0 bzw. 51,8 µg/ml). Dies ist wichtig für den Nachweis der vergleichbaren Wirksamkeit. Darüber hinaus lag die Wirksamkeit, gemessen an der kompletten pathologischen Remission (pCR), bei den Patienten im Subkutan-Arm in demselben Bereich wie bei den Patienten, die die intravenöse Formulierung erhielten (45,4 Prozent bzw. 40,7 Prozent).

Nebenwirkungen aller Schweregrade und schwere Nebenwirkungen waren in beiden Studienarmen vergleichbar. Die häufigsten Nebenwirkungen in beiden Studienarmen (jeweils über 25 Prozent) waren Haarausfall, Übelkeit, Neutropenie, Durchfall, Schwäche und Erschöpfung. Im Subkutan-Arm wurden mehr schwerwiegende Nebenwirkungen berichtet, für die jedoch keine spezifische klinische Erklärung (z. B. durch zugrundeliegende Patienten- oder Arzneimittelmerkmale) gefunden wurde.

Über die subkutane Verabreichung

Subkutan angewendetes Herceptin ist eine neue praktischere Darreichungsform von Herceptin auf der Basis der von Halozyme Therapeutics entwickelten Enhanze™-Technologie, die den neuartigen Hilfsstoff (Trägerstoff für aktive Wirkstoffe eines Medikaments) rHuPH20 enthält. rHuPH20 (rekombinante humane Hyaluronidase) bewirkt den reversiblen Abbau einer gelartigen Substanz (Hyaluronan), die normalerweise eine Barriere zwischen den Zellen im Unterhautgewebe bildet. Dies ermöglicht die Verteilung von injizierten Medikamenten über einen grösseren Gewebebereich und damit die schmerzlose subkutane Verabreichung der grösseren Menge von subkutanem Herceptin (eine Fixdosis von 600 mg [5 ml]).

Über die HannaH-Studie

HannaH ist eine internationale randomisierte, offene, multizentrische Phase-III-Studie, in die insgesamt 596 Patienten mit operierbarem oder lokal fortgeschrittenem Brustkrebs im Frühstadium aufgenommen wurden. Die Studie untersuchte die Wirksamkeit, Pharmakokinetik und Sicherheit von subkutan angewendetem Herceptin (in einer gebrauchsfertigen Durchstechflasche) und intravenös verabreichtem Herceptin für die neoadjuvante/adjuvante Therapie (Gabe vor und nach chirurgischem Eingriff) bei Frauen mit HER2-positivem frühen Brustkrebs. Die Behandlungsdauer betrug in beiden Studienarmen 1 Jahr.

Die koprimären Endpunkte waren:

  • Pharmakokinetik (PK).
  • Komplette pathologische Remission (pCR).

Die wichtigsten sekundären Endpunkte waren:

  • Sicherheit und Verträglichkeit.
  • pCR in Brust und Achselhöhle (tpCR).
  • Ereignisfreies Überleben (EFS) und Gesamtüberleben (OS).

Die Teilnehmer im Herceptin-s.c.-Studienarm erhielten:

  • 600 mg (Fixdosis) Herceptin subkutan plus Chemotherapie für 8 Zyklen vor der Operation.
  • Herceptin subkutan allein für 10 Zyklen nach der Operation.

Die Teilnehmer im Herceptin-i.v.-Studienarm erhielten:

  • Eine initiale Aufsättigungsdosis von 8 mg Herceptin/kg Körpergewicht intravenös gefolgt von einer Erhaltungsdosis von 6 mg/kg, jeweils in Kombination mit Chemotherapie für insgesamt 8 Zyklen vor der Operation gemäss der intravenösen Standardtherapie.
  • Herceptin intravenös allein für 10 Zyklen nach der Operation.

Die Nebenwirkungen in der Studie entsprachen dem bekannten Sicherheitsprofil von Herceptin. Es wurden keine neuen Sicherheitssignale beobachtet. Die Inzidenz der häufigsten Nebenwirkungen (über 10 Prozent in beiden Studienarmen) war vergleichbar. Schwere Nebenwirkungen (Grad >3) traten in beiden Armen ähnlich häufig auf (52 Prozent unter intravenösem Herceptin und 51,9 Prozent unter subkutanem Herceptin). Kardiale Nebenwirkungen traten in beiden Behandlungsarmen ähnlich häufig auf: 12,1 Prozent und 11,4 Prozent im i.v. bzw. s.c. Arm. Bei 11 Prozent der Patienten, die die subkutane Injektion erhielten, trat eine Reaktion an der Injektionsstelle auf (am häufigsten Schmerzen an der Injektionsstelle), deren Intensität bei 95 Prozent der Patienten leicht war.

Klinische Studien mit subkutaner Darreichungsform

Zurzeit laufen zwei weitere Studien mit subkutan angewendetem Herceptin. PrefHer ist eine multinationale randomisierte, multizentrische Crossover-Studie zur Beurteilung der Patientenpräferenz und der Zufriedenheit von medizinischen Fachkräften mit der subkutanen Verabreichung von Herceptin als adjuvante Therapie bei Patienten mit HER2-positivem Brustkrebs im Frühstadium. PrefHer ist eine Zweikohortenstudie (mit insgesamt 400 Patienten), um die subkutane Gabe von Herceptin mittels Durchstechflasche oder einer innovativen gebrauchsfertigen Injektionshilfe mit der intravenösen Gabe von Herceptin zu vergleichen. Die gebrauchsfertige Injektionshilfe ist ein bedeutender Fortschritt, der letztendlich die Selbstverabreichung von Herceptin durch die Patienten ermöglichen könnte. Die ersten Daten werden für 2013 erwartet.

Die Studie SafeHer ist eine multinationale offene Zweikohortenstudie zur Beurteilung der Sicherheit der assistierten Gabe und der Selbstverabreichung von subkutanem Herceptin als adjuvante Therapie bei Patienten mit operierbarem HER2-positiven frühen Brustkrebs. Die Studie erlaubt sowohl die Verabreichung aus der Durchstechflasche als auch mit der gebrauchsfertigen Injektionshilfe mit der Möglichkeit der Selbstverabreichung.

Roche erforscht ausserdem die Anwendung von MabThera (Rituximab) als subkutane Injektion bei Non-Hodgkin-Lymphom und chronischer lymphatischer Leukämie. MabThera als subkutane Injektion ist bisher noch in keinem Markt zugelassen. Ein erstes EU-Zulassungsgesuch wird vorraussichtlich Ende 2012 eingereicht.

Über Brustkrebs

Brustkrebs ist weltweit die häufigste Krebsart bei Frauen.1 Jedes Jahr werden auf der ganzen Welt rund 1,4 Millionen neue Fälle von Brustkrebs diagnostiziert, und über 450’000 Frauen sterben jährlich an dieser Krankheit.1 Bei HER2-positivem Brustkrebs sind auf der Oberfläche der Tumorzellen erhöhte Mengen des humanen epidermalen Wachstumsfaktors 2 (HER2) vorhanden. Dieses Phänomen wird als „HER2-Positivität“ bezeichnet und betrifft rund 15-20 Prozent der an Brustkrebs erkrankten Frauen.2 HER2-positiver Brustkrebs ist eine besonders aggressive Form von Brustkrebs.3

Über Herceptin

Herceptin (Trastuzumab) ist ein humanisierter monoklonaler Antikörper, der gezielt die Funktion von HER2 hemmt. HER2 ist ein Protein, das von einem spezifischen Gen gebildet wird, welches ein krebserzeugendes Potenzial hat, wenn es überexprimiert wird. Der Wirkmechanismus von Herceptin ist einzigartig und beruht auf der Aktivierung des körpereigenen Immunsystems und der Unterdrückung der HER2-Signalgebung zur gezielten Zerstörung von Krebszellen. Herceptin hat sowohl bei HER2-positivem Brustkrebs im Frühstadium als auch bei fortgeschrittenem (metastasierendem) HER2-positivem Brustkrebs eine zuvor unerreichte Wirksamkeit bewiesen. Nicht nur als Monotherapie, sondern auch in Kombination mit oder nach einer Standardchemotherapie konnten bei Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem Brustkrebs dank Herceptin die Ansprech- bzw. Remissionsraten, das krankheitsfreie Überleben sowie die Gesamtüberlebenszeit bei gleichzeitiger Aufrechterhaltung der Lebensqualität verbessert werden. Herceptin wird in den USA von Genentech, in Japan von Chugai und in den übrigen Ländern von Roche vertrieben. Seit 1998 haben weltweit fast 1 Million Patientinnen mit HER2-positivem Brustkrebs eine Therapie mit Herceptin erhalten.

Über Roche

Roche mit Hauptsitz in Basel, Schweiz, ein führendes, forschungsorientiertes Unternehmen, ist spezialisiert auf die beiden Geschäfte Pharma und Diagnostics. Als weltweit grösstes Biotech-Unternehmen entwickelt Roche klinisch differenzierte Medikamente für die Onkologie, Virologie, Entzündungs- und Stoffwechselkrankheiten und Erkrankungen des Zentralnervensystems. Roche, ein Pionier im Diabetesmanagement, ist auch der weltweit bedeutendste Anbieter von In-vitro-Diagnostik und gewebebasierten Krebstests. Medikamente und Diagnostika, welche die Gesundheit, die Lebensqualität und die Überlebenschancen von Patienten entscheidend verbessern, sind das strategische Ziel der personalisierten Medizin von Roche. 2010 beschäftigte Roche weltweit über 80’000 Mitarbeitende und investierte mehr als 9 Milliarden Franken in die Forschung und Entwicklung. Der Konzern erzielte einen Umsatz von 47,5 Milliarden Franken. Genentech, USA, gehört vollständig zur Roche-Gruppe. An Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan, hält Roche die Mehrheitsbeteiligung. Für weitere Informationen: www.roche.com.

Alle erwähnten Markennamen sind gesetzlich geschützt.

Literatur
1) Ferlay J, Shin HR, Bray F, Forman D, Mathers C and Parkin DM GLOBOCAN 2008, Cancer Incidence and Mortality Worldwide: IARC Cancer Base No. 10 [Internet]. Lyon, Frankreich: International Agency for Research on Cancer; 2010. Verfügbar unter: http://globocan.iarc.fr.
2) Wolff A.C et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology/ College of American Pathologists Guideline Recommendations for Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 Testing in Breast Cancer. Arch Pathol Lab Med—Vol 131, January 2007.
3) Slamon D et al. Adjuvant Trastuzumab in HER2-Positive Breast Cancer. N Engl J Med 2011; 365:1273-83.

Media Release

Basel, 23 March 2012

Roche's Herceptin given by subcutaneous injection offers greater convenience to patients and reduces overall healthcare costs compared to standard IV infusion

Subcutaneous administration of Herceptin is less invasive and takes approximately 5 minutes instead of 30-90 minutes with currently approved IV administration

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) today announced results from the Phase III HannaH study in women with HER2-positive early breast cancer (eBC) showing for the first time that a new way of giving Herceptin (trastuzumab) by subcutaneous (SC) injection leads to comparable efficacy (based on pathological complete response (pCR); complete eradication of the tumour cells in the breast) to the current way of giving the medicine by intravenous (IV) route. Herceptin SC may provide greater convenience to patients versus the traditional IV method due to its less invasive administration route and quicker administration time (5 minutes versus 30 – 90 minutes). The HannaH study also demonstrated Herceptin SC had comparable mean concentrations of Herceptin in the blood (pharmacokinetics; PK) versus the IV formulation. The overall safety profile in both arms of the HannaH study was consistent with that expected from treatment with Herceptin and standard chemotherapy in this setting. The results were presented today at the 8th European Breast Cancer Conference (EBCC-8) in Vienna (Abstract # 1BA) as part of the EBCC-8  keynote symposium session.

“The subcutaneous formulation of Herceptin provides an alternative to intravenous Herceptin and is an important treatment option for patients with HER2 positive breast cancer,” said Hal Barron, M.D., Chief Medical Officer and Head, Global Product Development. “Because it is less invasive and takes 5 rather than 30-90 minutes to administer, subcutaneous Herceptin is more convenient for patients and may reduce healthcare costs relative to the standard intravenous formulation.”

The SC administration is a less invasive administration process than the IV infusion and may allow patients to spend less time in hospital receiving their Herceptin treatment compared with the IV method. This is important in the eBC setting where Herceptin is usually given for 1 year. Herceptin SC is given as an injection under the skin at a fixed dose of 600 mg. In contrast to IV Herceptin, a loading dose and weight-adjusted dosing are not required for the SC formulation and the same dose is used irrespective of patient’s body weight.

Based on the HannaH data, Roche has submitted a Line Extension Application for Herceptin SC to the European Medicines Agency (EMA), for the treatment of HER2-positive breast cancer.

The co-primary endpoints of PK and efficacy met their pre-specified criteria. The drug concentration in the blood measured just before surgery was at least as high for the SC as for the IV formulation (69.0 and 51.8 µg/mL, respectively). This is important in order to demonstrate comparable efficacy. In addition, efficacy, determined by pCR, in patients treated in the SC arm was in the same range as in patients who received the IV formulation (45.4 percent and 40.7 percent, respectively).

All-grade adverse events (AEs) and severe AEs were comparable between arms. The most frequent AEs in either arm (above 25% in either arm) were alopecia, nausea, neutropenia, diarrhoea, asthenia and fatigue. More adverse events were reported as serious in the SC arm but no specific clinical explanation (e.g. from underlying patient or drug characteristics) for this finding was detected.

About subcutaneous delivery

Herceptin SC is a new more convenient formulation of Herceptin that uses Enhanze™ Technology, developed by Halozyme Therapeutics, Inc. which contains the novel excipient (carrier for active ingredients of a medication), rHuPH20. rHuPH20 (recombinant human hyaluronidase) reversibly breaks down a gel-like substance (hyaluronan) that forms a barrier in the tissues between cells under the skin. This facilitates the distribution of injected volumes over a greater area and enables painless subcutaneous administration of the large volume of Herceptin SC (a fixed dose of 600 mg (5ml)).

About the HannaH study

HannaH is a Phase III, randomised, open-label, international, multicentre study. A total of 596 patients with operable or locally advanced eBC were enrolled. The study investigated the efficacy, pharmacokinetics and safety of Herceptin SC (in a ready-to-use vial) and Herceptin IV in the neoadjuvant–adjuvant treatment setting (given before and after surgical intervention) of women with HER2-positive eBC. Treatment duration was 1 year in total for both arms.

The co-primary endpoints were:

  • Pharmacokinetics (PK).
  • Pathologic complete response (pCR).

Main secondary endpoints were:

  • Safety and tolerability
  • pCR in the breast and axilla (tpCR).
  • Event free survival (EFS) and overall survival (OS).

Participants in the Herceptin SC arm received:

  • 600 mg (fixed dose) of Herceptin SC plus chemotherapy for 8 cycles before surgery.
  • Herceptin SC alone for 10 cycles after surgery.

Participants in the Herceptin IV arm received:

  • An initial 8 mg/kg body weight loading dose of Herceptin IV followed by 6 mg/kg maintenance dose both in combination with chemotherapy for a total of 8 cycles before surgery, as per the standard IV regimen.
  • Herceptin IV alone for 10 cycles after surgery.

Adverse Events (AEs) in the study were consistent with the known Herceptin safety profile. No new safety signals were identified. Overall, the incidence of most common AEs (above 10% in either arm) was comparable. Severe AEs (grade >3) occurred at a similar incidence between arms (52 percent for Herceptin IV and 51.9 percent for Herceptin SC). Cardiac adverse events were similar in both treatment arms: 12.1 percent vs. 11.4 percent in the IV and SC arms respectively. 11 percent of patients who received the SC injection experienced an injection site reaction (most commonly pain at the site of injection) which was mild in intensity in 95 percent of patients.

Clinical trials – SC

Two additional Herceptin SC studies are currently ongoing. PrefHer is a randomised, multi-centre, multinational cross-over study to evaluate patient preference and healthcare professional satisfaction with SC administration of Herceptin as an adjuvant therapy in patients with HER2-positive eBC. PrefHer is a two cohort study (involving 400 patients in total) comparing Herceptin SC administration, via vial or an innovative ready-to-use device, with Herceptin IV administration. The ready-to-use injection device is an important advance as it could eventually allow patients to self-administer Herceptin. Data is expected in 2013.

SafeHer is a two-cohort multinational and open label study to assess the safety of assisted- and self-administered SC Herceptin as an adjuvant therapy in patients with operable HER2-positive eBC. The study allows the use of both vial administration and administration via the ready-to-use device with the option of self-administration.

Roche are also investigating the use of MabThera (rituximab) for subcutaneous injection in non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and chronic lymphocytic leukaemia. MabThera for subcutaneous injection is not currently licensed or approved in any market. Roche anticipates an initial EU filing in late 2012.

About breast cancer

Breast cancer is the most common cancer among women worldwide.1 Each year about 1.4 million new cases of breast cancer are diagnosed worldwide, and over 450,000 women will die of the disease annually.1 In HER2-positive breast cancer, increased quantities of the human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) are present on the surface of the tumour cells. This is known as “HER2 positivity” and affects approximately 15-20 percent of women with breast cancer.2 HER2-positive cancer is a particularly aggressive form of breast cancer.3

About Herceptin

Herceptin (trastuzumab) is a humanised monoclonal antibody, designed to target and block the function of HER2, a protein produced by a specific gene with cancer-causing potential when it is overexpressed. The mode of action of Herceptin is unique in that it activates the body’s immune system and suppresses HER2 signalling to target and destroy the tumour. Herceptin has demonstrated unprecedented efficacy in treating both early and advanced (metastatic) HER2-positive breast cancer. Given on its own as monotherapy as well as in combination with or following standard chemotherapy, Herceptin has been shown to improve overall survival, response rates and disease-free survival while maintaining quality of life in women with HER2-positive breast cancer. Herceptin is marketed in the United States by Genentech, in Japan by Chugai and internationally by Roche. Since 1998, Herceptin has been used to treat almost 1 million people with HER2-positive breast cancer worldwide.

About Roche

Headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, Roche is a leader in research-focused healthcare with combined strengths in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics. Roche is the world’s largest biotech company with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, virology, inflammation, metabolism and CNS. Roche is also the world leader in in-vitro diagnostics, tissue-based cancer diagnostics and a pioneer in diabetes management. Roche’s personalised healthcare strategy aims at providing medicines and diagnostic tools that enable tangible improvements in the health, quality of life and survival of patients. In 2010, Roche had over 80’000 employees worldwide and invested over 9 billion Swiss francs in R&D. The Group posted sales of 47.5 billion Swiss francs. Genentech, United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche has a majority stake in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information: www.roche.com.

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.

References
1) Ferlay J, Shin HR, Bray F, Forman D, Mathers C and Parkin DM GLOBOCAN 2008, Cancer Incidence and Mortality Worldwide: IARC Cancer Base No. 10 [Internet]. Lyon, France: International Agency for Research on Cancer; 2010. Available from: http://globocan.iarc.fr.
2) Wolff A.C et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology/ College of American Pathologists Guideline Recommendations for Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 Testing in Breast Cancer. Arch Pathol Lab Med—Vol 131, January 2007.
3) Slamon D et al. Adjuvant Trastuzumab in HER2-Positive Breast Cancer. N Engl J Med 2011; 365:1273-83.