Investor Update

Basel, 21. Februar 2017

Roche erhält EU-Zulassung von Alecensa (Alectinib) für Patienten mit vorbehandeltem ALK-positivem nicht-kleinzelligen Lungenkrebs

  • Alecensa provides an efficacious, systemic treatment option for people with ALK-positive NSCLC, which is also active in patients with brain metastases, who have been previously treated with crizotinib

Wie Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) heute bekannt gab, hat die Europäische Kommission eine bedingte Zulassung erteilt für Alecensa® (Alectinib) als Monotherapie von erwachsenen Patienten mit fortgeschrittenen, für die anaplastische Lymphomkinase (ALK) positivem nicht-kleinzelligen Lungenkrebs (NSCLC), die zuvor mit Crizotinib behandelt wurden. Die meisten Patienten mit ALK-positivem NSCLC entwickeln innerhalb eines Jahres nach Beginn der Behandlung eine Resistenz gegen die derzeitige Standardtherapie, und bei rund 60% kommt es zu Metastasen im zentralen Nervensystem (ZNS).1,2

„Jedes Jahr wird bei schätzungsweise 75‘000 Patienten weltweit ALK-positiver nicht-kleinzelliger Lungenkrebs diagnostiziert“, so Sandra Horning, Chief Medical Officer und Leiterin der globalen Produktentwicklung. „Die Entwicklung einer Resistenz gegen die derzeitige Standardtherapie unterstreicht den Bedarf nach alternativen Therapien. Die heutige Zulassung verspricht eine neue Behandlungsmöglichkeit für Patienten in Europa mit dieser schweren Erkrankung.“

Die bedingte Zulassung stützt sich hauptsächlich auf Daten der entscheidenden Phase-II-Studien NP28673 und NP28761. Siezeigten, dass Alecensa die Tumoren bei bis zu 52,2% (95%-KI: 39,7%, 64,6%) der Patienten mit fortgeschrittenem ALK-positiven NSCLC, deren Erkrankung nach einer Behandlung mit Crizotinib fortgeschritten war, schrumpfen liess (Gesamtansprechrate, ORR).2,3 Die Studien zeigten ausserdem, dass Alecensa die Überlebenszeit der Patienten bis zum Fortschreiten ihrer Erkrankung oder Tod (progressionsfreies Überleben, PFS) um bis zu 8,9 Monate verlängerte (95%-KI: 5,6, 12,8).2,3 Zusätzlich zeigte eine zusammengefasste Analyse der beiden Studien, dass Alecensa messbare ZNS-Tumoren bei 64% der Patienten (95%-KI: 49,2%, 77,1%) schrumpfen liess, und dass 22% (n=29) eine komplette Remission ihrer messbaren und nicht-messbaren ZNS-Tumoren erreichten.4

Eine bedingte Zulassung wird für Medikamente erteilt, die einen ungedeckten medizinischen Bedarf befriedigen und bei denen der Nutzen durch die sofortige Verfügbarkeit grösser ist als das Risiko von weniger umfassenden Daten als normalerweise vorgeschrieben. Gemäss den Anforderungen der bedingten Zulassung wird Roche zusätzliche Daten zur Erstlinientherapie mit Alecensa bei ALK-positiven NSCLC-Patienten, die noch nicht mit einem ALK-Hemmer behandelt wurden, aus der zurzeit laufenden Phase-III-Studie ALEX einreichen. In dieser Studie wird Alecensa mit Crizotinib verglichen.5 Ergebnisse der ALEX-Studie wird für die erste Jahreshälfte 2017 erwartet.

Alecensa ist bereits in acht Ländern für die Therapie von ALK-positivem NSCLC nach Versagen von Crizotinib zugelasssen. Auch in Japan ist Alecensa für Patienten zugelassen, deren Tumoren fortschreiten, wiederkehren oder nicht vollständig operativ entfernt werden konnten (nicht resezierbar sind).6 Zusätzlich zur ALEX-Studie wird Alecensa auch in der Phase-III-Studie J-ALEX bei Patienten in Japan als Erstlinientherapieoption mit Crizotinib verglichen.5,7 Die Resultate der J-ALEX-Studie wurden auf dem Jahreskongress 2016 der American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) vorgestellt und zeigten, dass Alecensa verglichen mit Crizotinib bei dieser Form von Lungenkrebs das Risiko für ein Fortschreiten der Erkrankung oder den Tod (PFS) um 66% reduzierte (Hazard-Ratio [HR]=0,34, 99%-KI: 0,17-0,70, p<0,0001).7

Lungenkrebs verursacht jedes Jahr 1,59 Millionen Todesfälle weltweit, mehr als jede andere Krebsart.8 NSCLC ist die häufigste Form von Lungenkrebs und die häufigste Krebstodesursache in Europa und auf der ganzen Welt. Das NSCLC ist für rund 85% aller Lungenkrebsfälle verantwortlich.9 Ein ALK-positives NSCLC liegt bei rund 5% der Patienten mit fortgeschrittenem NSCLC vor. Das bedeutet, dass die Erkrankung jährlich bei etwa 75‘000 Patienten weltweit diagnostiziert wird.9,10 Es findet sich fast immer bei Patienten mit einem Adenokarzinom, einer bestimmten Form von NSCLC, und tritt häufiger bei leichten Rauchern oder Nichtrauchern auf.11

Über die Studie NP286732

  • NP28673 ist eine weltweite einarmige, offene, multizentrische Phase-I/II-Studie zur Beurteilung der Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit von Alecensa bei 138 Patienten mit ALK-positivem NSCLC, deren Erkrankung unter Crizotinib weiter fortschritt.
  • Die Studie zeigte gemäss der Beurteilung durch ein unabhängiges Überprüfungsgremium eine nach den RECIST-Kriterien gemessene Gesamtansprechrate (ORR) von 50,8% (95%-KI: 41,6%, 60,0%).
    • Auch eine Beurteilung durch die Prüfärzte zeigte, dass die Tumoren bei 51,4% der Patienten unter Alecensa (95%-KI: 42,8%, 60,0%) schrumpften.
    • Ausserdem sprachen die Patienten, deren Tumoren durch die Therapie mit Alecensa schrumpften, für eine mediane Dauer von 15,2 Monaten (95%-KI: 11,2, 24,9) anhaltend auf die Behandlung an (Ansprechdauer, DOR).
    • Das mediane progressionsfreie Überleben (PFS) für Patienten, die mit Alecensa behandelt wurden, betrug 8,9 Monate (95%-KI: 5,6, 12,8).
  • Das Sicherheitsprofil von Alecensa entsprach dem in früheren Studien.
  • Die folgenden Nebenwirkungen wurden bei ≥2% der Patienten beobachtet: Dyspnoe (4%), Anämie (3%), Erschöpfung, erhöhter INR-Wert, Lungenembolie und Hyperbilirubinämie (je 2%).

Über die Studie NP287613

  • NP28761 ist eine einarmige, offene, multizentrische Phase-I/II-Studie in Nordamerika zur Beurteilung der Sicherheit und Wirksamkeit von Alecensa bei 87 Patienten mit ALK-positivem NSCLC, deren Erkrankung unter Crizotinib weiter fortschritt.
  • Die Studie zeigte gemäss der Beurteilung durch ein unabhängiges Überprüfungsgremium eine nach den RECIST-Kriterien gemessene Gesamtansprechrate (ORR) von 52,2% (95%-KI: 39,7%, 64,6%).
    • Eine Beurteilung durch die Prüfärzte zeigte, dass die Tumoren bei 52,9% der Patienten unter Alecensa schrumpften (95%-KI: 41,9%, 63,7%).
    • Ausserdem sprachen die Patienten, deren Tumoren durch die Therapie mit Alecensa schrumpften, für eine mediane Dauer von 14,9 Monaten (95%-KI: 6,9 - nicht abschätzbar) anhaltend auf die Behandlung an (DOR).
    • Das mediane progressionsfreie Überleben (PFS) für Patienten, die mit Alecensa behandelt wurden, betrug 8,2 Monate (95%-KI: 6,3, 12,6).
  • Das Sicherheitsprofil von Alecensa entsprach dem in früheren Studien.
  • Die häufigsten (bei mindestens 2% der Patienten auftretenden) Nebenwirkungen des Schweregrades 3 oder höher waren ein Anstieg von Muskelenzymen (erhöhte Blutspiegel von Kreatinphosphokinase, 8%), erhöhte Leberenzyme (Alaninaminotransferase, 6%, und Aspartataminotransferase, 5%), Kurzatmigkeit (Dyspnoe, 3%), erhöhte Triglyzeridspiegel (Hypertriglyzeridämie), verminderter Kaliumspiegel (Hypokaliämie), niedrige Spiegel von Phosphat im Blut (Hypophosphatämie, 3%), verlängerte Blutgerinnungszeit (partielle Thromboplastinzeit, 2%).

Über Alecensa

Alecensa (RG7853/AF-802/RO5424802/CH5424802) ist ein oral anwendbares Medikament, das aus den Chugai Kamakura Research Laboratories stammt und für Patienten mit nicht-kleinzelligem Lungenkrebs (NSCLC) entwickelt wird, deren Tumoren als ALK-positiv identifiziert werden. Ein ALK-positives NSCLC wird häufig bei jüngeren Patienten diagnostiziert, die wenig oder überhaupt nicht geraucht haben.11 Es findet sich fast immer bei Patienten mit einem Adenokarzinom, einer bestimmten Form von NSCLC.11 Alecensa ist zurzeit in den USA, Kuwait, Israel, Hong Kong, Kanada, Südkorea, in der Schweiz und in Indien zur Therapie von Patienten mit fortgeschrittenem (metastasierendem) ALK-positiven NSCLC zugelassen, deren Erkrankung nach Behandlung mit Crizotinib fortschreitet oder die Crizotinib nicht vertragen. In Japan ist Alecensa für ALK-positive Patienten mit NSCLC zugelassen.5

In einer zusammengefassten Analyse der auf das ZNS bezogenen Endpunkte der Studien NP28673 und NP28761 zeigte Alecensa eine Aktivität gegen Hirnmetastasen, was darauf hindeutet, dass das Medikament ins Gehirn aufgenommen wird.4 Das Gehirn wird von der Blut-Hirn-Schranke geschützt, einem Netzwerk von eng miteinander verbundenen Zellen, die das Innere der Blutgefässe im Gehirn und im Rückenmark auskleiden.12 Einer der Mechanismen, mit dem die Blut-Hirn-Schranke das Eindringen von Molekülen in das Gehirn verhindert, besteht darin, die Stoffe aktiv über die Blut-Hirn-Schranke auszuschleusen. Dieser Prozess wird als ‘active efflux’ (aktive Ausschleusung) bezeichnet.13 Das aktive Ausschleusungssystem erkennt Alecensa jedoch nicht. Deshalb dringt das Medikament vermutlich in das Hirngewebe ein und verteilt sich dort.2,3

In der weltweiten Phase-III-Studie ALEX mit Alecensa wird auch ein von Roche Diagnostics entwickelter diagnostischer Begleittest geprüft. Alecensa wird in Japan von Chugai Pharmaceutical vermarktet, das zur Roche-Gruppe gehört.

Über Roche und Lungenkrebs

Lungenkrebs ist ein Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Investition von Roche, und wir setzen uns dafür ein, neue Therapieansätze, Medikamente und Tests zu entwickeln, die Patienten mit dieser tödlichen Erkrankung helfen können. Unser Ziel ist eine wirksame Behandlungsmöglichkeit für jeden Patienten mit Lungenkrebs. Wir verfügen bereits über vier zugelassene Medikamente zur Behandlung bestimmter Formen von Lungenkrebs und erforschen mehr als zehn weitere Medikamente, die sich gezielt gegen die häufigsten genetischen Treiber von Lungenkrebs richten oder das Immunsystem zur Bekämpfung der Erkrankung stimulieren.

Über Roche

Roche ist ein globales Unternehmen mit Vorreiterrolle in der Erforschung und Entwicklung von Medikamenten und Diagnostika und ist darauf fokussiert, Menschen durch wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt ein besseres, längeres Leben zu ermöglichen. Dank der Kombination von Pharma und Diagnostika unter einem Dach ist Roche führend in der personalisierten Medizin – einer Strategie mit dem Ziel, jeder Patientin und jedem Patienten die bestmögliche Behandlung zukommen zu lassen.

Roche ist das grösste Biotech-Unternehmen weltweit mit differenzierten Medikamenten für die Onkologie, Immunologie, Infektionskrankheiten, Augenheilkunde und Erkrankungen des Zentralnervensystems. Roche ist auch der bedeutendste Anbieter von In-vitro-Diagnostika und gewebebasierten Krebstests und ein Pionier im Diabetesmanagement.

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 1896 erforscht Roche bessere Wege, um Krankheiten zu verhindern, zu erkennen und zu behandeln und leistet einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung. Zum Ziel des Unternehmens gehört es, durch Kooperationen mit allen relevanten Partnern den Zugang von Patientinnen und Patienten zu medizinischen Innovationen zu verbessern. Auf der Liste der unentbehrlichen Arzneimittel der Weltgesundheitsorganisation stehen heute 29 von Roche entwickelte Medikamente, darunter lebensrettende Antibiotika, Malariamittel und Krebsmedikamente. Ausgezeichnet wurde Roche zudem bereits das achte Jahr in Folge als das nachhaltigste Unternehmen innerhalb der Pharma-, Biotechnologie- und Life-Sciences-Branche im Dow Jones Sustainability Index .

Die Roche-Gruppe mit Hauptsitz in Basel, Schweiz, ist in über 100 Ländern tätig und beschäftigte 2016 weltweit über 94‘000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Im Jahr 2016 investierte Roche CHF 9,9 Milliarden in Forschung und Entwicklung und erzielte einen Umsatz von CHF 50,6 Milliarden. Genentech in den USA gehört vollständig zur Roche-Gruppe. Roche ist Mehrheitsaktionär von Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter www.roche.com

Alle erwähnten Markennamen sind gesetzlich geschützt.

Literatur

1. Solomon BJ, et al. New England Journal of Medicine 2014;371(23):2167-2177

2. Barlesi F, et al. Annals of Oncology 2016;27(sup 6):1263P (NP28673, vorgestellt auf ESMO-Kongress 2016)

3. Camidge R, et al. Journal of Thoracic Oncology 2016;12(15):S378 (NP28761 published WCLC 2016)

4. Gadgeel S, et al. Journal of Thoracic Oncology 2015;10(9):S238 (Supplement 2)

5. Clinical Trials. ALEX study: A randomised phase III study comparing alectinib with crizotinib in treatment-naïve anaplastic lymphoma kinase-positive advanced non-small cell lung cancer participants. https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02075840 (Link ist extern).

6. Roche data on file.

7. Nokihara H, et al. Journal of Clinical Oncology 2016;34:(suppl; abstr 9008)

8. Ferlay J, et al. Int J Cancer 2015;136(5):E359-86

9. Torre LA, et al. CA Cancer J Clin 2015;65:87–108

10. Dearden S, et al. Annals of Oncology 2013;24:2371-2376

11. Gridelli C, et al. Cancer Treatment Reviews 2014;40:300-306

12. Abbott J, et al. Nature Reviews Neuroscience 2006;7:41-53

13. Weickhardt AJ et al. Journal of Thoracic Oncology 2012;1807-1814

Investor Update

Basel, 21 February 2017

Roche receives EU approval of Alecensa (alectinib) for people with previously treated ALK-positive non-small cell lung cancer

  • Alecensa provides an efficacious, systemic treatment option for people with ALK-positive NSCLC, which is also active in patients with brain metastases, who have been previously treated with crizotinib

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) announced today that the European Commission has granted a conditional marketing authorisation for Alecensa® (alectinib) as monotherapy for the treatment of adult patients with anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK)-positive advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) previously treated with crizotinib. Most people with ALK-positive NSCLC develop resistance to the current standard of care within one year of treatment, and approximately 60% will develop metastases in the central nervous system (CNS).1,2

“Every year, an estimated 75,000 people are diagnosed with ALK-positive NSCLC worldwide,” said Sandra Horning, MD, Chief Medical Officer and Head of Global Product Development. “Development of resistance to the current standard of care underlines the need for alternative treatments. Today’s approval provides the promise of a new treatment option for people in Europe with this devastating disease.”

The conditional approval is based primarily on data from the pivotal phase II NP28673 and NP28761 studies, which showed that Alecensa shrank tumours in up to 52.2% (95% CI: 39.7%, 64.6%) of people with advanced ALK-positive NSCLC whose disease had progressed following treatment with crizotinib (overall response rate; ORR).2,3 The studies also showed that Alecensa extended the time that people lived without their disease worsening or death (progression-free survival, PFS) by up to 8.9 months (95% CI: 5.6, 12.8).2,3 In addition, a pooled analysis of the two studies showed that Alecensa shrank CNS tumours that were measurable in 64% of patients (95% CI: 49.2%, 77.1%), and 22% (n=-29) achieved a complete response of their measurable and non-measurable CNS tumours.4

Conditional approval is granted to a medicinal product that fulfils an unmet medical need where the benefit of immediate availability outweighs the risk of less comprehensive data than normally required. Under the provisions of the conditional approval, Roche will provide additional data on first-line Alecensa in ALK inhibitor naïve ALK-positive NSCLC patients from an ongoing phase III study ALEX, comparing Alecensa to crizotinib.5 The ALEX study is expected to report data in the first half of 2017.

Alecensa is already approved for ALK-positive NSCLC in eight countries in the crizotinib failure setting, and also in Japan for people whose tumours were advanced, recurrent or could not be removed completely through surgery (unresectable).6 In addition to ALEX, Alecensa is also being explored as a first-line treatment option with the phase III J-ALEX study comparing Alecensa to crizotinib in Japanese patients.5,7 Results from the J-ALEX study were presented at the 2016 American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting and showed that Alecensa reduced the risk of disease worsening or death (PFS) by 66% (hazard ratio [HR]=0.34, 99% CI: 0.17-0.70, p<0.0001) compared to crizotinib in this specific form of lung cancer.7

Each year lung cancer causes 1.59 million deaths worldwide, more than any other cancer.8 NSCLC is the most common type of lung cancer, and is the leading cause of cancer-related deaths in Europe and across the world, accounting for approximately 85% of lung cancer cases.9 ALK-positive NSCLC occurs in approximately 5% of patients with advanced NSCLC, translating to about 75,000 patients being diagnosed with the disease annually.9,10 It is almost always found in people with a specific type of NSCLC called adenocarcinoma, and is more common in light or non-smokers.11

About the NP28673 study2

  • NP28673 is a phase I/II global, single arm, open-label, multicentre trial evaluating the safety and efficacy of Alecensa in 138 people with ALK-positive NSCLC whose disease progressed on crizotinib.
  • The study showed by assessment of an independent review committee an ORR of 50.8% (95% CI: 41.6%, 60.0%), as measured by RECIST criteria.
    • An investigator assessment also showed tumours shrank in 51.4% of people who received Alecensa (95% CI: 42.8%, 60.0%)
    • In addition, the people whose tumours shrank in response to Alecensa continued to respond for a median of 15.2 months (95% CI: 11.2, 24.9) (duration of response, DOR)
    • The median PFS for people who received Alecensa was 8.9 months (95% CI: 5.6, 12.8)
  • Alecensa demonstrated a safety profile consistent with that observed in previous studies.
  • The following events were reported in ≥2% of patients: dyspnoea (4%); anaemia (3%); fatigue, INR increased, pulmonary embolism and hyperbilirubinemia (each 2%).

About the NP28761 study3

  • NP28761 is a phase I/II North American, single arm, open-label, multicentre trial evaluating the safety and efficacy of Alecensa in 87 people with ALK-positive NSCLC whose disease progressed on crizotinib.
  • The study showed by assessment of an independent review committee an ORR of 52.2% (95% CI: 39.7%, 64.6%) as measured by RECIST criteria.
    • An investigator assessment showed tumours shrank in 52.9% of people who received Alecensa (95% CI: 41.9%, 63.7%).
    • In addition, the people whose tumours shrank in response to Alecensa continued to respond for a median of 14.9 months (95% CI: 6.9, NE) (DOR).
    • The median PFS for people who received Alecensa was 8.2 months (95% CI: 6.3, 12.6).
  • Alecensa demonstrated a safety profile consistent with that observed in previous studies.
  • The most common (occurring in at least 2% of people) Grade 3 or higher adverse events were an increase in muscle enzymes (increased blood levels of creatine phosphokinase; 8%), increased liver enzymes (alanine aminotransferase; 6%, and aspartate aminotransferase; 5%), shortness of breath (dyspnoea; 3%), elevated levels of triglyceride (hypertriglyceridaemia), decreased potassium level (hypokalaemia) low levels of phosphate in the blood (hypophosphatemia; 3%), partial blood thickening (thromboplastin; 2%) time prolonged.

About Alecensa

Alecensa (RG7853/AF-802/RO5424802/CH5424802) is an oral medicine created at Chugai Kamakura

Research Laboratories and is being developed for people with NSCLC whose tumours are identified as ALK-positive. ALK-positive NSCLC is often found in younger people who have a light or non-smoking history.11 It is almost always found in people with a specific type of NSCLC called adenocarcinoma.11 Alecensa is currently approved in the United States, Kuwait, Israel, Hong Kong, Canada, South Korea, Switzerland and India for the treatment of advanced (metastatic) ALK-positive NSCLC whose disease has worsened after, or who could not tolerate treatment with, crizotinib and in Japan for ALK positive NSCLC patients.5

In a pooled analysis of CNS endpoints from studies NP28673 and NP28761, Alecensa demonstrated activity in brain metastases, indicating that the drug may be taken up in the brain.4 The brain is protected by the blood-brain barrier, a network of tightly joined cells that line the inside of the blood vessels in the brain and spinal cord.12 One of the ways the blood-brain barrier prevents molecules from affecting the brain is to actively eject them from the barrier through a process known as ‘active efflux’.13 The active efflux system does not recognise Alecensa, which means that it may travel into and throughout brain tissue.2,3

The global phase III ALEX study of Alecensa includes a companion test developed by Roche Diagnostics. Alecensa is marketed in Japan by Chugai Pharmaceutical, a member of the Roche Group.

About Roche in lung cancer

Lung cancer is a major area of focus and investment for Roche, and we are committed to developing new approaches, medicines and tests that can help people with this deadly disease. Our goal is to provide an effective treatment option for every person diagnosed with lung cancer. We currently have four approved medicines to treat certain kinds of lung cancer and more than ten medicines being developed to target the most common genetic drivers of lung cancer or to boost the immune system to combat the disease.

About Roche

Roche is a global pioneer in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics focused on advancing science to improve people’s lives. The combined strengths of pharmaceuticals and diagnostics under one roof have made Roche the leader in personalised healthcare – a strategy that aims to fit the right treatment to each patient in the best way possible.

Roche is the world’s largest biotech company, with truly differentiated medicines in oncology, immunology, infectious diseases, ophthalmology and diseases of the central nervous system. Roche is also the world leader in in vitro diagnostics and tissue-based cancer diagnostics, and a frontrunner in diabetes management.

Founded in 1896, Roche continues to search for better ways to prevent, diagnose and treat diseases and make a sustainable contribution to society. The company also aims for improving patient access to medical innovations by working with all relevant stakeholders. Twenty-nine medicines developed by Roche are included in the World Health Organization Model Lists of Essential Medicines, among them life-saving antibiotics, antimalarials and cancer medicines. Roche has been recognised as the Group Leader in sustainability within the Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology & Life Sciences Industry eight years in a row by the Dow Jones Sustainability Indices (DJSI).

The Roche Group, headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, is active in over 100 countries and in 2016 employed more than 94,000 people worldwide. In 2016, Roche invested CHF 9.9 billion in R&D and posted sales of CHF 50.6 billion. Genentech, in the United States, is a wholly owned member of the Roche Group. Roche is the majority shareholder in Chugai Pharmaceutical, Japan. For more information, please visit www.roche.com.

All trademarks used or mentioned in this release are protected by law.

References

1. Solomon BJ, et al. New England Journal of Medicine 2014;371(23):2167-2177

2. Barlesi F, et al. Annals of Oncology 2016;27(sup 6):1263P (NP28673 presented at ESMO 2016)

3. Camidge R, et al. Journal of Thoracic Oncology 2016;12(15):S378 (NP28761 published WCLC 2016)

4. Gadgeel S, et al. Journal of Thoracic Oncology 2015;10(9):S238 (supplement 2)

5. Clinical Trials. ALEX study: A randomised phase III study comparing alectinib with crizotinib in treatment-naïve anaplastic lymphoma kinase-positive advanced non-small cell lung cancer participants. https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02075840 (Link is external).

6. Roche data on file.

7. Nokihara H, et al. Journal of Clinical Oncology 2016;34:(suppl; abstr 9008)

8. Ferlay J, et al. Int J Cancer 2015;136(5):E359-86

9. Torre LA, et al. CA Cancer J Clin 2015;65:87–108

10. Dearden S, et al. Annals of Oncology 2013;24:2371-2376

11. Gridelli C, et al. Cancer Treatment Reviews 2014;40:300-306

12. Abbott J, et al. Nature Reviews Neuroscience 2006;7:41-53

13. Weickhardt AJ et al. Journal of Thoracic Oncology 2012;1807-1814